Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 12-09-2016, 08:44 AM   #1
georgetkingiv

Question New to Handicapping: Have a Few Questions

Hello,

I have a few questions I am hoping a few folks here wouldn't mind sharing their opinions on.

Here goes.

1. I am new to handicapping and like to read. Can anybody recommend to me a few good books and magazines worth reading or subscribing to?

2. I typically place my wagers through TwinSpires. Is this the preferred place to play? Or is there someplace else everyone uses?

Thank you for your time

George
georgetkingiv is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 12-09-2016, 03:05 PM   #2
Secondbest

Some books I like are
Any books by Mark Cramer or Andy Beyer
Modern Pace Handicapping by Tom Brohammer
Handicapping Magic by Michael Pizzolla
These are older books but I believe they are worth reading.
As you learn you will find the style { pace, speed, both together} that suits your personality the best. Good luck and welcome aboard
Secondbest is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 12-09-2016, 03:16 PM   #3
cj
@TimeformUSfigs

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgetkingiv
Hello,

I have a few questions I am hoping a few folks here wouldn't mind sharing their opinions on.

Here goes.

1. I am new to handicapping and like to read. Can anybody recommend to me a few good books and magazines worth reading or subscribing to?

2. I typically place my wagers through TwinSpires. Is this the preferred place to play? Or is there someplace else everyone uses?

Thank you for your time

George
There is a Handicapping Library section here. Expand it to show all posts instead of just the last months to "beginning" and you'll find virtually every book ever written on horse betting discussed.
cj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 12-09-2016, 03:18 PM   #4
cj