Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-17-2008, 10:51 PM   #1
rolling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Rep Power: 0 rolling is on a distinguished road
GRAND SLAM YOUR OUT!!!!!

Object of the bet in the first 3 races get your horse to show, last leg get the winner.On 2-16 I played the bet,race5 my horse shows,race 6 my horse shows.Race 7 I have #2 to show,horse finished third,race 8 I have the winner,great I win, not so fast.The 7th race has a coupled entry,they finish 1, 2 .Results of race,1 1a 4 2.The #2 is not considered a show horse,trifecta pays 1 4 2.I go to window to cash get the bad news #%&%#!!! I always thought a coupled entry is considered one betting interest.The NYRA web site on the wagering page has no mention of this rule.It is hard to win at this game but come on give me a ##%# BREAK!!!!!
rolling is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-17-2008, 11:07 PM   #2
Robert Fischer
clean money
 
Robert Fischer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 19,919
Rep Power: 50 Robert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant futureRobert Fischer has a brilliant future
tough beat.

If you have an entry with both parts finishing top 3, do you get paid twice for that leg of the Grand Slam? You should, if they dis-allow a ticket like yours. If not, double-##%#!
__________________
Preparation. Discipline. Patience. Decisiveness.
Robert Fischer is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-17-2008, 11:20 PM   #3
ryesteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,352
Rep Power: 18 ryesteve is on a distinguished road
I don't see the controversy here. If you'd bet the #2 to show in that race, you wouldn't have collected either, so why would you expect to cash a Grand Slam ticket where you need to have a show horse?
ryesteve is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 05:06 AM   #4
Murph
Public Handicapper
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,450
Rep Power: 0 Murph is on a distinguished road
I played the two under similar circumstances that day.

It was disapointing to have the entry win 2/3 of the show pool
even though I gave them a 50% chance to do that.

Murph
Murph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 07:49 AM   #5
jma
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Your horse finished fourth, not third. I don't see what the problem is. You don't cash a show ticket when a horse finishes fourth.
  Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 11:55 AM   #6
AQUEBUCKS
maximan
 
AQUEBUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 123
Rep Power: 16 AQUEBUCKS is on a distinguished road
2/16/2008

th Race

Next Post 3:49 Off: 3:20 | 1 1/16 Miles | 4 Year Olds And Up | Allowance Optional Claiming ($75,000) | Purse: $51,000



#HorseJockeyWeightWinPlaceShow 1Buddha CallingLopez C C1185.204.603.10 1AOedipus O'NealDominguez R A1185.204.603.10 4Wild UnionArroyo N Jr118

4.30
__________________
Always Be Closing...
AQUEBUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 12:43 PM   #7
AQUEBUCKS
maximan
 
AQUEBUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 123
Rep Power: 16 AQUEBUCKS is on a distinguished road
error

AQu 7th
win place show
1 Buddha Calling 5.20 4.60 3.10
1a Oedipus O'Neal 5.20 4.60 3.10
4 Wild Union 4.30

#2 does not pay either way
__________________
Always Be Closing...
AQUEBUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 04:55 PM   #8
Murph
Public Handicapper
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,450
Rep Power: 0 Murph is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jma
Your horse finished fourth, not third. I don't see what the problem is. You don't cash a show ticket when a horse finishes fourth.
Obviously.

I feel Rolling's frustration and NOT because the entry shouldn't make out
two places in the payouts. I have yet to make a grandslam wager
so I hadn't considered the impact of that placing on the slam until I read
the post.

Rolling had the worst of it compared to my bet though. As an aside, I believe
I'll start making the slam wager more often. It fits what I'm doing and the
posts here about the action on it have been interesting.

Thanks for sharing this one, R

Murph
Murph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 05:48 PM   #9
toetoe
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11,435
Rep Power: 0 toetoe will become famous soon enough
I'm delighted and refreshed by your naive hope, murph, as it points to my pet peeve.

The exacta, according to the rules, is determined by the win/place finishers. Yet the exacta pays off on the win/show horse when it finishes, e.g., 1/1A/2. What the ?? Either the entrymate should be disregarded for the place payoffs, or the exacta should pay off on 1/1. It won't blow up the system to install a 1/1 key, a 2/2 key, et cetera. More betting interests.
But as it stands, the exacta can be win horse/show horse or, in the case of D. W. Lukas in the old days, win horse/way-out-of-the-money horse.
toetoe is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 06:56 PM   #10
Pace Cap'n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,959
Rep Power: 20 Pace Cap'n is on a distinguished road
Haven't you heard? Got to watch those "1/2" keys.
Pace Cap'n is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 07:05 PM   #11
Zman179
Registered Wacko
 
Zman179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Belmont-ish
Posts: 2,083
Rep Power: 21 Zman179 is a jewel in the roughZman179 is a jewel in the roughZman179 is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Fischer
tough beat.

If you have an entry with both parts finishing top 3, do you get paid twice for that leg of the Grand Slam? You should, if they dis-allow a ticket like yours. If not, double-##%#!
No, but you do get an increased payoff just as if you had played the 1 to place.
Zman179 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 08:36 PM   #12
jma
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I don't play this bet, but obviously watch it when there's an entry in there. What else is there to say?
  Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-18-2008, 08:36 PM   #13
TEJAS KIDD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 374
Rep Power: 13 TEJAS KIDD is on a distinguished road
In the PLACE PICK ALL in California, the rules are the opposite. If the entry runs 1/2, then the 3rd horse is considered a winner for Place Pick All purposes.
Terrible rule in New York...
TEJAS KIDD is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-19-2008, 05:48 AM   #14
Murph
Public Handicapper
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,450
Rep Power: 0 Murph is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by toetoe
I'm delighted and refreshed by your naive hope, murph, as it points to my pet peeve.

The exacta, according to the rules, is determined by the win/place finishers. Yet the exacta pays off on the win/show horse when it finishes, e.g., 1/1A/2. What the ?? Either the entrymate should be disregarded for the place payoffs, or the exacta should pay off on 1/1. It won't blow up the system to install a 1/1 key, a 2/2 key, et cetera. More betting interests.
But as it stands, the exacta can be win horse/show horse or, in the case of D. W. Lukas in the old days, win horse/way-out-of-the-money horse.
Kind of makes you wonder just who is being protected by entry rules
doesn't it? Your suggestion on removing the entry from consideration in
exotics might even go one step further and simply eliminate the coupled entry
alltogether. The problem in NY is that there would be 100 times the angry
Ralph's when they had a Henry Dominguez pulled on them.

I just have to remember the entry rules are there to protect me as a bettor.

Murph
Murph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-19-2008, 04:00 PM   #15
Fastracehorse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,443
Rep Power: 20 Fastracehorse is on a distinguished road
That is funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rolling
Object of the bet in the first 3 races get your horse to show, last leg get the winner.On 2-16 I played the bet,race5 my horse shows,race 6 my horse shows.Race 7 I have #2 to show,horse finished third,race 8 I have the winner,great I win, not so fast.The 7th race has a coupled entry,they finish 1, 2 .Results of race,1 1a 4 2.The #2 is not considered a show horse,trifecta pays 1 4 2.I go to window to cash get the bad news #%&%#!!! I always thought a coupled entry is considered one betting interest.The NYRA web site on the wagering page has no mention of this rule.It is hard to win at this game but come on give me a ##%# BREAK!!!!!
I'm laughing with you on this one.

That is messed up.

fffastt
Fastracehorse is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
» Current Polls
Most useful Factor
Driver - 15.28%
11 Votes
Trainer - 30.56%
22 Votes
Class Rating - 18.06%
13 Votes
Post Position - 11.11%
8 Votes
Earnings - 4.17%
3 Votes
Speed Rating - 16.67%
12 Votes
2yr Win% - 1.39%
1 Vote
Qualifiers - 2.78%
2 Votes
Total Votes: 72
This poll is closed.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2020 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved -- Best Viewed in a modern browser @ 1280x720 Resolution Or Higher
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.