Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - Computers


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 10-10-2015, 12:29 AM   #1
whodoyoulike
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,428
Rep Power: 0 whodoyoulike is on a distinguished road
Windows 10 Question(s)

I thought I was reserving my Windows 10 upgrade but I ended up upgrading to it just now. Looked at my data files and noticed duplicate files under Quick Access.

What is this Quick Access section and any harm if I delete the files or should I keep the files under Quick Access?

Where are these files being stored?

How do I find this Cortana AI feature?

Any suggestions to get quickly up to speed using Win10?

Thanks for any info.
whodoyoulike is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-10-2015, 12:59 AM   #2
Robert Goren
Racing Form Detective
 
Robert Goren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lincoln, Ne but my heart is at Santa Anita
Posts: 16,316
Rep Power: 30 Robert Goren has a spectacular aura aboutRobert Goren has a spectacular aura aboutRobert Goren has a spectacular aura about
Good luck. Windows 10 takes a bit of getting use to and learning where things are. I have had two main issues with it. It does not like to take passwords sometimes. Hooking it up to smart TV via HDMI was hard. I finally did it, but for the life me I don't how. For the most part it is better than 7 or 8 once you figure how to do what you want to do.
__________________
Some day in the not too distant future, horse players will betting on computer generated races over the net. Race tracks will become casinos and shopping centers. And some crooner will be belting out "there used to be a race track here".
Robert Goren is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-10-2015, 03:48 AM   #3
Actor
Librocubicularist
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,289
Rep Power: 16 Actor will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goren
For the most part it is better than 7 or 8 once you figure how to do what you want to do.
If the automotive industry worked the way the computer industry works (you've heard that one before, right?) they'd change the entire layout of the controls every two years.

Small digression: Back in the 1920s some guy came up with the idea that it would be good to drive your car with body English. So he rigged up a system where the driver wore a harness connected to cables. To turn right the driver leaned right. Turn left, lean left. Speed up, lean forward. Stop, lean back. His system never caught on.
__________________
Sapere aude
Actor is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-10-2015, 05:07 AM   #4
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,033
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
Microsoft's official "how to" writeup.
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...arted-whatsnew


Here are a few other options to help you along.

Turn off the confusing "Quick View" in File Explorer.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29682...cess-view.html

Turn on System Restore in case Microsoft installs a bad update in the future and you need to back it out.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29550...d-updates.html

Review and change Windows 10 Privacy and Security settings.
http://www.wired.com/2015/08/windows...ngs-need-know/

Prevent Microsoft from logging your keystrokes.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29740...l-has-one.html

Restrict Microsoft from sharing your upload bandwidth with strangers.
Leave sharing in place but restrict it to - Select "PCs on my local network".
http://www.computerworld.com/article...ors_picks=true

Increase Virtual Memory from default for better performance unless it's already set proprerly.
http://www.computerworld.com/article...indows-10.html

Change the Start Menu to suit your preferences. (2 links below)
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29607...tart-menu.html
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29672...tart-menu.html

Customize Windows 10 Action Center.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29659...on-center.html

Manage your taskbar.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29605...r-taskbar.html

Show file name extensions.
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...ions=windows-7

Selectively sync your files to OneDrive, Microsoft's cloud storage.
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/onedri...ync-windows-10

More options that Windows 10 provides including some of the above.
http://www.theguardian.com/technolog...10-tips-tricks

Last edited by Augenj; 10-10-2015 at 05:20 AM.
Augenj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-10-2015, 05:27 AM   #5
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,033
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
One more thing...

The Windows 10 Edge browser is a work in progress and confusing to most people. If the Edge browser was installed as the default, do the following to change it:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29554...-or-opera.html

You'll also need to import your bookmarks from a file that you "may" have created before the Windows 10 upgrade.

Last edited by Augenj; 10-10-2015 at 05:29 AM.
Augenj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-10-2015, 05:18 PM   #6
whodoyoulike
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,428
Rep Power: 0 whodoyoulike is on a distinguished road
Thanks Augenj for the links I haven't read any of them yet.

But, DANG!

All I wanted to do was reserve a copy then it was being downloaded.

Should I just go out and buy an Apple?
whodoyoulike is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-11-2015, 11:23 PM   #7
Flysofree
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 860
Rep Power: 0 Flysofree is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augenj
One more thing...

The Windows 10 Edge browser is a work in progress and confusing to most people. If the Edge browser was installed as the default, do the following to change it:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29554...-or-opera.html

You'll also need to import your bookmarks from a file that you "may" have created before the Windows 10 upgrade.
Once you find where the Windows 10 Edge browser is located, is it simple to download Firefox ?
Flysofree is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-12-2015, 06:43 AM   #8
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,033
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flysofree
Once you find where the Windows 10 Edge browser is located, is it simple to download Firefox ?
I don't have Windows 10 installed yet. All I did was gather up a bunch of links to help me when I finally get around to it. From what I've read, you can start Edge by clicking the E symbol in the tray in the lower right of the screen or from the Start Menu.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29523...w-browser.html
Then search for "firefox download" in the search box, download it, and make it your default browser. At least that's how I'd do it.
Augenj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-12-2015, 09:13 AM   #9
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,033
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by whodoyoulike
Thanks Augenj for the links I haven't read any of them yet.

But, DANG!

All I wanted to do was reserve a copy then it was being downloaded.

Should I just go out and buy an Apple?
I don't think so. If you can muddle through this Windows 10 upgrade, you should be set for the future since Microsoft said that Windows 10 will be the last version change (and they always tell the truth)
Augenj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-15-2015, 04:25 AM   #10
Hoofless_Wonder
broken-down horseplayer
 
Hoofless_Wonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Portland, OR area
Posts: 2,090
Rep Power: 13 Hoofless_Wonder is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the links, Augenj. Against my better judgement, I've bought components and struggled with a new PC build the last couple of weeks, and Linux support for the Skylake CPUs is lacking. I've gotten one flavor to boot up with plenty of errors, but it's going to be a while before my flavor of choice is usable.

So, I've purchased Windows 10 Pro, and will have a go with it. If nothing else, I'll be curious if the license key will allow me to run it as a virtual machine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augenj
Prevent Microsoft from logging your keystrokes.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29740...l-has-one.html
I find this defies reason. The company which has had dogshit security since Day 1 logs your keystrokes? There ought to be a law......
__________________
Playing SRU Downs - home of the "no sweat" inquiries...
Defying the "laws" of statistics with every wager.
Hoofless_Wonder is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-15-2015, 06:07 AM   #11
MJC922
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 801
Rep Power: 6 MJC922 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoofless_Wonder
Thanks for the links, Augenj. Against my better judgement, I've bought components and struggled with a new PC build the last couple of weeks, and Linux support for the Skylake CPUs is lacking. I've gotten one flavor to boot up with plenty of errors, but it's going to be a while before my flavor of choice is usable.

So, I've purchased Windows 10 Pro, and will have a go with it. If nothing else, I'll be curious if the license key will allow me to run it as a virtual machine.



I find this defies reason. The company which has had dogshit security since Day 1 logs your keystrokes? There ought to be a law......
The license key shouldn't care whether its in a VM or not but if it's just one seat on pro then you'll only get one or two activations out of it. I've setup and messed around with 10 a bit at work lately. During the install I typically leave it unplugged from the network initially, it'll then complain and prompt me with the option to create a local account which is what I prefer anyway. Then I go ahead and plug it into network. I also don't choose express setup. Seems a better idea to opt out of all that and instead toggle off all of the tracking and phone home crap it wants to do. I leave the location awareness on but that's about it. The edge browser renders pretty fast but seems a bit rough to me. They're rushing things and figuring they'll push out updates. I'm in no hurry to run this at home, perfectly fine with Win7 on my desktop. Win7 is good on the desktop, Win8 was bad, 8.1 got quite a bit better than 8, and then I suppose 10 is a bit better than 8.1 (start menu-wise) but I'm not impressed with the whole deal.
__________________
North American Class Rankings

Last edited by MJC922; 10-15-2015 at 06:16 AM.
MJC922 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-15-2015, 08:52 AM   #12
Spiderman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,481
Rep Power: 13 Spiderman is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augenj
I don't have Windows 10 installed yet. All I did was gather up a bunch of links to help me when I finally get around to it. From what I've read, you can start Edge by clicking the E symbol in the tray in the lower right of the screen or from the Start Menu.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/29523...w-browser.html
Then search for "firefox download" in the search box, download it, and make it your default browser. At least that's how I'd do it.
Would it be same procedure for Google Chrome browser?
Spiderman is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-15-2015, 10:30 AM   #13
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,033
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman
Would it be same procedure for Google Chrome browser?
Yes. Download any browser you want except versions of IE older than IE 11.
Augenj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-15-2015, 11:02 AM   #14
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,033
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augenj
Yes. Download any browser you want except versions of IE older than IE 11.
I should added earlier that you only get the Edge browser default if you choose the Express installation. The Custom installation, or whatever they call it, allows you to select your current browser during installation.
Augenj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-15-2015, 03:14 PM   #15
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,033
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
And to add insult to injury, this just out:

http://www.pcworld.com/article/29933...ome-users.html

Microsoft is testing the waters with a few users by making the upgrade to Windows 10 MANDATORY. I suspect that if nobody hollers, they'll do that to all of us.
Augenj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
» Current Polls
Which handicapping software has given you the best ROI?
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2018 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved -- Best Viewed in a modern browser @ 1280x720 Resolution Or Higher
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.