Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - Computers

Old 03-08-2016, 05:43 PM   #1
EMD4ME
NoPoints4ME

Want New PC-HELP

Hello Team PA,

I don't need a new PC but want one. I have 3 days off and want to shop quick. I am a tech dummy.

Here's what I think I want.

1) Large hard drive space so I can save a ton of videos/pictures.
2) High quality video quality
3) My current PC has had the mother board or something like that burn out 3x. Guy I bring it to at Chinatown says you watch too many videos, it burns out. $50 dollahs. I fix. I couldn't get myself to tell him it's race replays that causes all that video time
4) I have windows 7. It will take me 12 years to adjust to something new. Can I keep windows 7?
5) I will probably buy a tablet too for mobile handicapping. Want simple technology to move pics from tablet to pc
6) What is this 4K I hear of? 4K video graphics or whatever?
7) How do I switch my Kaspersky from this PC to the new one? I just paid for a 1 year subscription.
8) I don't use MACs. Have no clue about them.

I would sincerely appreciate any advice
EMD4ME is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 03-08-2016, 06:54 PM   #2
Dave Schwartz

Yes.

There is high quality and then there is HIGH quality. My son, who is a set designer (just finished Planet of the Apes 3) uses a $1,500 video card. If you get a computer that supports HDMI you will likely have "good enough" quality.

3) My current PC has had the mother board or something like that burn out 3x. Guy I bring it to at Chinatown says you watch too many videos, it burns out. $50 dollahs. I fix. I couldn't get myself to tell him it's race replays that causes all that video time.
Now you are talking about OnBoard video cards. Yes, the cheapies can fry. I have 12 computers (give or take). Rarely have to replace a video card.