Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Racing Discussion

Old 03-20-2019, 11:34 AM   #1
NJDfan1711

Thoroughbred Ownership

Hi all,

New here - been registered for a couple years and just lurked every now and then, reading some interesting posts and other topics that brought me here. I've been handicapping races for about 15 years, probably closer to 20, not very seriously, and with limited and average success - it's more or less a hobby - of course I'd like to make a profit, but if/when I lose, it's not the end of the world and I'm not risking anything I can't afford to lose.

For quite some time I've also been interested in owning a horse one day, my father and grandfather owned two horses on Long Island some 30 or 40 years ago, so I guess you could say it's sort of in my blood. I'm happy to say I'm almost read to pull the trigger on this, as I've done a good amount of research into thoroughbred partnerships over the past month. I'm based in southwest Florida and ideally looking for a parternship that will require limited capital and investment up front, as that's essentially my only real roadblock at this point (aside from my knowledge of horse ownership being somewhat limited). I have the funds to be able to contribute to monthly payments required for the horses upkeep and development, and I've essentially narrowed down my choices to two stables right now. The perfect scenario for me is finding a stable the trains and races a horse close to me, as I'd prefer to be somewhat hands on and actually visit the horse while he/she is training, and then of course watch it race once it gets to that point, but that's not necessarily a deal-breaker, since it seems that most horses typically go up north somewhere for the summer to avoid the heat down here.