Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > Selections

Old 07-22-2018, 12:53 PM   #1
Teach

Saratoga: Sunday, July 22

Race One:

TIED UP appears to be “the horse”. Yes, this Even The Score- (think Heavenly Score, Dullahan, etc.) bred, 3-year old filly holds a distinct class-edge over the others in this 20k claimer. I guess the only “fly in the ointment” (isn’t there always something) is: “Why is she “class-dropping?” (DRF labels it “suspicious”). As I look at weather radar for New York’s “Capital District,” I notice that it has been raining off-and-on up at “The Spa”. I have to assume (I have no knowledge as of this writing) that track conditions will be downgraded from “fast”. As for track wetness, this filly moves up. Her equine lineage says, “Yes, I can handle wet-track conditions,” e.g., Unbridled’s Song, Distorted Humor, Rahy, etc. There has been an over three-month layoff since her last race (she won) at Keeneland. Yet, her morning works are good. This filly does have the services of one of this country’s best jockeys, Jose Ortiz. Against this field, with her back-class, unless I don’t know something that somebody else does… One caveat: She will likely go prohibitive “chalk”. Tom Amoss trains. Others: GreasedLightning; Pure Praise; 6 NorthernStreetGal.

Race Two:
GHOSTLY BEAUTY. I like the turf pedigree on this first-time starter. Galileo-breds always catch my attention in turf races. I believe this 2-year old filly can “get the distance,” a maiden-special at one mile and ‘a teenth’. This filly’s morning works have been decent (I like it went horses are breezed from the gate). George Weaver’s a solid trainer who does well with horses entered in turf races. Manny Franco has his feet in the stirrups. Others: Two Dozen Roses; Aunt Ashley; 7 Sweet Carolina.

Race Three: