Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 04-21-2018, 03:09 PM   #1
gabe

First time starters, teach me what to look for.

Let's talk "First-time starters". When looking at first time starters what do you look for? I could definitely use a refresher on what to look for with firsters.

I have been handicapping since I was 7 years old. But I don't think I've been approaching first time starters the wrong way.
gabe is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-21-2018, 03:35 PM   #2
Baron Star Gregg

The barn, the pedigree and the works (relative to the trainer). All of this needs to be viewed relative to the field. That probably doesn't help much but it is the starting point.
Baron Star Gregg is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-21-2018, 03:38 PM   #3
dav4463

8/1 or less on the morning line.
Old 04-21-2018, 03:38 PM   #4
GMB@BP

I dont try to figure them out.

I either find a horse with 2 3 or 4 starts that I prefer.

Its a guess, even from top barns. If you buy workout reports, then maybe.

If its a race that I hate the experienced horses I am spreading but usually passing. Guessing has not worked at all for me over the years.

First time starters are almost always overbet.
GMB@BP is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-21-2018, 04:05 PM   #5
headhawg
crusty old guy

1 and 1a. -- trainer stats and sire stats with FTS. I know you can lie with statistics, but used correctly they will put you on live FTS.

2. Morning line. I'm not sure if 8-1 is the magic number as has been suggested, but I think that it is important. Look for an ML in the lowest three or four (depending on field size). I would add that the tote board can help here as well.

3. A competent jockey at the very least. What trainer would want a slug riding a good maiden?