Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > Handicapping Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 07-28-2021, 08:45 PM   #46
Speed Figure
DJ M.Walk
 
Speed Figure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Compton, CA!
Posts: 1,930
What is the difference between the single and multi files?
Speed Figure is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-28-2021, 08:46 PM   #47
headhawg
crusty old guy
 
headhawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Snarkytown USA
Posts: 3,553
I posted incorrectly. I should have written that it would be a single-to-multi conversion. So all the data in the multi file(s) needs to be in the single file. That may be the sticking point. I looked at the data structures but that was a very long time ago. Of course the coder could use dummy data for missing data values in the single file, but it couldn't be anything used by Pandy's program, obviously.
__________________
"Don't believe everything that you read on the Internet." -- Abraham Lincoln
headhawg is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-28-2021, 11:08 PM   #48
headhawg
crusty old guy
 
headhawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Snarkytown USA
Posts: 3,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy View Post
Over the years, we put so much work into it, tweaking it and upgrading it so it would run smoothly and adapt to distance chances better, etc., that it would be difficult to try and start all over and get it to produce the same ratings. And we like the ratings the way they are. It's just one of those things, we created it 25 years ago on Foxpro.
This is the part I don't understand. An algorithm is an algorithm. Your stuff is proprietary but it can be duplicated. There is nothing magical about Foxpro; all programming languages can read data and crunch numbers. What data is used, and how it's combined and massaged mathematically is what makes it proprietary, not the language used. And the math is rudimentary -- add, subtract, multiply, divide.
__________________
"Don't believe everything that you read on the Internet." -- Abraham Lincoln
headhawg is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-28-2021, 11:55 PM   #49
pandy
Registered User
 
pandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA.
Posts: 7,212
Are you saying that you could create it in a single file system?

As for changing a single file to a multi file so it runs, I think we looked into that and couldn't find anything.
pandy is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-29-2021, 12:42 AM   #50
headhawg
crusty old guy
 
headhawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Snarkytown USA
Posts: 3,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy View Post
Are you saying that you could create it in a single file system?

As for changing a single file to a multi file so it runs, I think we looked into that and couldn't find anything.
I will say that I probably could but I am not a professional coder. A pro could get the job done much faster and with a nice UI. The important things for the programmer to know would be all the algorithms (formulas) for the numbers that are created, and if all the data to create said numbers are included in the single file format and not just in the multi- format. A pro also might be familiar with Foxpro and would be able to read the original source code to make his/her conversion job easier.

It's quite possible that Bris has somehow made it impossible to do a conversion from single to multi, but as long as all the data fields are there it should just a matter of creating the multi format. I am pretty sure I looked into doing this 10+ years ago, but I was also working on some Trackmaster stuff around the same time so I might be mistaken. Whatever the case I don't have a working conversion program.
__________________
"Don't believe everything that you read on the Internet." -- Abraham Lincoln
headhawg is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-29-2021, 12:44 AM   #51
headhawg
crusty old guy
 
headhawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Snarkytown USA
Posts: 3,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Figure View Post
What is the difference between the single and multi files?
That's the $64,000 question. I want to say that the multi- format had four separate files instead of just one. But as I just posted previously, I may be thinking of a Trackmaster format.
__________________
"Don't believe everything that you read on the Internet." -- Abraham Lincoln
headhawg is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-29-2021, 02:26 AM   #52
ranchwest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: near Lone Star Park
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by headhawg View Post
At one time I thought about converting Bris multi to the single format. I was considering buying Pandy's Diamond system, but as most of my programs used the single format I wasn't going to buy two sets of files. If all of the data in the single file is in the multi, it shouldn't be too difficult to code. I am working on other software things now and I don't really have the time, but a decent coder shouldn't have a problem doing it. It's possible that my scratch program (HDST) would work on the newly created single file, but that is not a guarantee. Most programs worked fine with the modified single file but not all were tested.
Multicaps files have 1435 data elements in a single file format. It shouldn't be hard to convert to multi files, but it could be very time consuming. Just matching up the elements could take a while. Is there a layout template on the BRIS site for the multi files?
__________________
Ranch West
Equine Performance Analyst
ranchwest is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-29-2021, 03:04 AM   #53
ranchwest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: near Lone Star Park
Posts: 4,094
What would it be worth to have a conversion program?
__________________
Ranch West
Equine Performance Analyst
ranchwest is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-29-2021, 09:05 AM   #54
ranchwest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: near Lone Star Park
Posts: 4,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy View Post
Are you saying that you could create it in a single file system?

As for changing a single file to a multi file so it runs, I think we looked into that and couldn't find anything.
I am pretty sure I could. I am familiar with the single file format.
__________________
Ranch West
Equine Performance Analyst
ranchwest is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 07-29-2021, 10:32 AM   #55
pandy
Registered User
 
pandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA.
Posts: 7,212
Thanks for the interest. I'll think on it.
pandy is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
» Current Polls
Vote NOW!
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2021 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.