Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 07-16-2011, 12:04 PM   #1
Helles

Mentoring and Cooperation

Compared to most of you, I am a relative newcomer to thoroughbred racing. I've been studying for about eight years. I spent the 25 years prior to that studying greyhounds.

I had the good fortune to hook up with two very good dog players back then and exchange ideas and plays. We used to get together on Yahoo chat and enable the voice function and then sit there and play the races together. This was not only very informative, but also a lot of fun. One of them had played professionally for several years and I found his insight very helpful and it improved my play.

Fast forward to March 2011. I was looking for a software program that offered the flexibility to do my own research and build my own approach(es) to the game. Unfortunately, there appeared to be three or four really good ones. How to choose? Long story (thankfully) shortened, I liked what Dave Schwartz had been writing on PA so I decided on HSH.

This isn't a commercial for HSH, but rather for a way for some of us to perhaps improve our game.

I have been lurking on PA for several years and I've read quite a bit. One thing that stuck with me and I could relate to my dog days is the idea of having a mentor. This has come up in books I have read and many of the members here have pointed out the importance of having a mentor. It has also been pointed out here that you can emulate a mentor but it is unlikely that you can copy a mentor's approach and enjoy the same success.

Okay, so where do I find a mentor? I can't very well ask Thaskalos to spend an hour a day with me to help me improve my game. I also can't ask him to show me how he does it. This is where the 'cooperation' in the title of my post comes in.