Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > Handicapping Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-23-2020, 10:33 PM   #1
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 50,239
Does anybody have Equisim CD

Does anybody have an Equisim CD?

For some reason after 15 yrs my software is asking for a CD. I have one......but it is denied due to a version problem.

If somebody has one.......if your not using it.....I can buy it.....or whatever.

Thanks in advance

Ralph
__________________
LUKE 22:36
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-24-2020, 05:21 PM   #2
JimG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: GA
Posts: 2,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustRalph View Post
Does anybody have an Equisim CD?

For some reason after 15 yrs my software is asking for a CD. I have one......but it is denied due to a version problem.

If somebody has one.......if your not using it.....I can buy it.....or whatever.

Thanks in advance

Ralph

I could send you mine if I could find it but the version is old. The latest version Nathan handled by email and did not send out a disk. I did check mine after reading your note here and it still loads fine. Weird you are getting that message.


Jim
JimG is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-24-2020, 08:35 PM   #3
Mechanic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustRalph View Post
Does anybody have an Equisim CD?

For some reason after 15 yrs my software is asking for a CD. I have one......but it is denied due to a version problem.

If somebody has one.......if your not using it.....I can buy it.....or whatever.

Thanks in advance

Ralph
Are you trying to start from a shortcut? Have you tried starting from the .exe?
Mechanic is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-25-2020, 11:34 AM   #4
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 50,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechanic View Post
Are you trying to start from a shortcut? Have you tried starting from the .exe?
Same outcome
__________________
LUKE 22:36
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-25-2020, 11:36 AM   #5
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 50,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimG View Post
I could send you mine if I could find it but the version is old. The latest version Nathan handled by email and did not send out a disk. I did check mine after reading your note here and it still loads fine. Weird you are getting that message.


Jim
Jim, can you burn me a copy?

I would hate for the only disk you have to get lost.
Since itís a defunct app Iím sure Nathan wouldnít care. I really want it for the way it handles Bris pps
__________________
LUKE 22:36
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-25-2020, 12:54 PM   #6
acorn54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: new york
Posts: 1,595
did you try to "run as administrator"? when downloading exe.
acorn54 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-25-2020, 01:45 PM   #7
NormanTD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 116
Ralph, check your PM
NormanTD is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-25-2020, 06:48 PM   #8
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 50,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by acorn54 View Post
did you try to "run as administrator"? when downloading exe.
Yep. Thx
__________________
LUKE 22:36
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-25-2020, 07:54 PM   #9
headhawg
crusty old guy
 
headhawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Snarkytown USA
Posts: 3,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustRalph View Post
I really want it for the way it handles Bris pps
Yeah, the way it displayed the PPs was excellent. And it had a built-in highlighter too. That was an idea from some user, but I can't remember his name.
__________________
"Don't believe everything that you read on the Internet." -- Abraham Lincoln
headhawg is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-25-2020, 10:46 PM   #10
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 50,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by headhawg View Post
Yeah, the way it displayed the PPs was excellent. And it had a built-in highlighter too. That was an idea from some user, but I can't remember his name.
Brilliant!!
__________________
LUKE 22:36
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-26-2020, 07:24 AM   #11
porchy44
Registered User
 
porchy44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 695
Compatibility Mode

Executable of equisim never launched for me until I right clicked it and

"run the program in compatibility mode" for windows XP (Service Pack 3).
porchy44 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-26-2020, 12:29 PM   #12
Vinnie
Registered User
 
Vinnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Spaghetti Junction and Frustration Blvd.
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by headhawg View Post
Yeah, the way it displayed the PPs was excellent. And it had a built-in highlighter too. That was an idea from some user, but I can't remember his name.
You guys had a great amount of input in helping Nathan M. develop ES into what it would eventually become and that is one wonderful handicapping tool with a fantastic and easy to use interface. Love ES, and my wife is a superb handicapper with it. She uses the FV algorithms almost exclusively in her capping.
__________________
Warm Regards,

Vinnie

"All Human error is impatience; a premature renunciation of method"- F. Kafka
Vinnie is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-28-2020, 11:47 PM   #13
Appy
Registered User
 
Appy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Flint Hills
Posts: 474
I've wanted to talk to Nathan for quite awhile now but it seems he is entirely engrossed in whatever his new gig is. I'd like to try to make a deal with him. ESROI is just too good to let it wither away as technology leaves it behind on the basis of relatively irrelevant technicalities.
__________________
"Better to do little well than more poorly." Appy
Appy is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-29-2022, 08:13 AM   #14
MrHarryNguyen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 26
hey guys, I'm new to horse racing and heard so much about equisim! I tried the demo but ran out of days and the site no longer works. I don't know what else to do and I really want the program!
MrHarryNguyen is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-29-2022, 11:03 AM   #15
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 50,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHarryNguyen View Post
hey guys, I'm new to horse racing and heard so much about equisim! I tried the demo but ran out of days and the site no longer works. I don't know what else to do and I really want the program!
Itís defunct

The creator stopped supporting it 10 yrs ago.

No way to get it anymore
__________________
LUKE 22:36
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2022 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.