Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Racing Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 10-04-2016, 07:10 AM   #1
Dmcwally
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0 Dmcwally is on a distinguished road
RTN Roku

RTN has just released a roku app. It's available on their login website to set up. and it's really easy to use and very fast. Excellent hd picture quality as well
Dmcwally is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-04-2016, 09:49 AM   #2
burnsy
self medicated
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: toga
Posts: 2,145
Rep Power: 10 burnsy has a spectacular aura aboutburnsy has a spectacular aura about
Can you explain how to use that? I'd really appreciate it. I'm an old technically challenged individual with ROKU. I only use Netflix. Thanks.

John
__________________
"If voting mattered, they wouldn't let you do it." Mark Twain
burnsy is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-04-2016, 11:56 AM   #3
Dmcwally
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Rep Power: 0 Dmcwally is on a distinguished road
I'm just going to post the instructions. They can explain it easier.

http://rtn.tv/rokuhelp.aspx
Dmcwally is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-04-2016, 11:33 PM   #4
thespaah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,066
Rep Power: 18 thespaah is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by burnsy
Can you explain how to use that? I'd really appreciate it. I'm an old technically challenged individual with ROKU. I only use Netflix. Thanks.

John
I suppose one must sub to the TV version of RTN as opposed to the on on line version

Last edited by thespaah; 10-04-2016 at 11:35 PM.
thespaah is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-05-2016, 12:14 AM   #5
therussmeister
superfecta grinder
 
therussmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,935
Rep Power: 11 therussmeister has a spectacular aura abouttherussmeister has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by thespaah
I suppose one must sub to the TV version of RTN as opposed to the on on line version
The link provided says no. All subscribers can use it.
__________________
"Kindly let me help you or you will drown," said the monkey putting the fish safely up a tree.

Alan Watts
therussmeister is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 10-05-2016, 10:16 AM   #6
titans1127
Harness racing Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 327
Rep Power: 12 titans1127 is on a distinguished road
Normally I only subscribe to RTN online for random months just to use the service. I like the interface and the HD feeds for certain tracks. The feed quality tends to be better overall compared to Twinspires or Xpressbet. Thankfully I have a Roku and signed up for another month to try it out. It might be enough to get my business for a full year.
titans1127 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-04-2016, 01:56 PM   #7
Fox
VIP
 
Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Home
Posts: 303
Rep Power: 8 Fox is on a distinguished road
Just linked my Roku to my RTN account. Great picture, but I am disappointed that there definitely is a significant delay from the internet feed. I counted about 25 to 30 seconds. Oh well.
Fox is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-04-2016, 02:11 PM   #8
Lafecs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 44
Rep Power: 0 Lafecs is on a distinguished road
I hooked this up for myself a couple of weeks ago - it's good. For those looking for High Def feeds this is THE best option out there. It's true there is probably a 20 - 30 second delay from the actual live feed. However, it enables you to watch any track, at any time you want. It also completely bypasses TVG and all the commercials and other garbage. You can get a Roku stick on amazon for $50. You're going to need a High-Def TV with an HDMI and USB port, as well as a solid wireless internet connection. I think a subscription to RTN is $25/month.
Lafecs is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-04-2016, 03:30 PM   #9
titans1127
Harness racing Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 327
Rep Power: 12 titans1127 is on a distinguished road
I was noticing about a 40 second delay. Not an issue if I'm just watching but if I'm betting last minute then a high chance of getting shut out. Definitely awesome for the HD feeds but its likely easier to just connect my laptop to my monitor to shrink and watch that way to avoid the delay.
titans1127 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-05-2016, 08:44 AM   #10
Alc
Registered User
 
Alc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 108
Rep Power: 17 Alc is on a distinguished road
I implemented the ROKU app. Beautiful picture for 30 t0 40 minutes. Then the picture is lost. This happened over and over. Spoke to rtn rep and to roku rep and then to uverse rep. No help. I think that it is a uverse problem which limits streamin of Hi def. Was always watching the hi def transmission from NYRA on every occasion. Just a warning and wondering if any one else has same problem. BTW it did appear to work ok when watching standard transmission for NFLD.
Alc is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-18-2016, 03:30 PM   #11
savant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Rep Power: 0 savant is on a distinguished road
Is it me,or does this RTN Roku app really suck big time?
It takes a while to retrieve the signal,and it is constantly loading(buffering).
And don't talk about the quality of some of those feeds.
They have a delay,and the streams of some of the tracks,especially the
Greyhound tracks look like those choppy pixelated video streams one used
to get in the early days of the Internet.
And bear in mind I have high speed Internet with 300 Mbps download speed.
The TVG feed is also not available,and neither do you have the possibility
to watch the race replays with this app.
I am really disappointed with this Roku app.
I can not believe a reputable company like RTN.TV can release a subpar
product like this in this day and age.

Last edited by savant; 11-18-2016 at 03:41 PM.
savant is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-18-2016, 11:42 PM   #12
thespaah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,066
Rep Power: 18 thespaah is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by savant
Is it me,or does this RTN Roku app really suck big time?
It takes a while to retrieve the signal,and it is constantly loading(buffering).
And don't talk about the quality of some of those feeds.
They have a delay,and the streams of some of the tracks,especially the
Greyhound tracks look like those choppy pixelated video streams one used
to get in the early days of the Internet.
And bear in mind I have high speed Internet with 300 Mbps download speed.
The TVG feed is also not available,and neither do you have the possibility
to watch the race replays with this app.
I am really disappointed with this Roku app.
I can not believe a reputable company like RTN.TV can release a subpar
product like this in this day and age.
What is your connection speed? Download/Upload?
Are you on a cable ISP( Time Warner/Charter? Optimum?....Comcast?
Or is your ISP through AT&T( U Verse) or Verizon( FiOS)?
If it is the former, and you live in a well populated area, chances are you are sharing a node with many other customers. Internet traffic will bog down due to the number of users on the node that feeds your neighborhood.
if you are on one of the Telco providers, you may have a service issue which would require a tech visit.
thespaah is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-19-2016, 07:20 AM   #13
JimG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,741
Rep Power: 21 JimG will become famous soon enoughJimG will become famous soon enough
I used it for a month. My connection is hard wired and about 100mb download. Anyhow, I found the popular tracks, like Keeneland and NYRA to buffer after about a few minutes. Although the Stronach tracks, like SA and GP streamed fine. The less popular tracks also seemed to stream fine. That tells me they do not have enough bandwidth for some tracks during heavy usage times. The NYRA app I have works great and I have had no issues with other apps I use to stream. Bottom line, it could use some work and I did not renew.

Jim

Last edited by JimG; 11-19-2016 at 07:23 AM.
JimG is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-19-2016, 09:34 AM   #14
savant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12
Rep Power: 0 savant is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by thespaah
What is your connection speed? Download/Upload?
Are you on a cable ISP( Time Warner/Charter? Optimum?....Comcast?
Or is your ISP through AT&T( U Verse) or Verizon( FiOS)?
If it is the former, and you live in a well populated area, chances are you are sharing a node with many other customers. Internet traffic will bog down due to the number of users on the node that feeds your neighborhood.
if you are on one of the Telco providers, you may have a service issue which would require a tech visit.
Like I mentioned in my post my download speed is 300 Mbps,and my upload
speed is 30 Mbps.
I am using Cox.
I am sure it is not my Internet connection because I have several IPTV
services on my Roku,and another box,and I don't have none of the problems I am experiencing with the Roku RTN app streams.
savant is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-19-2016, 10:17 PM   #15
titans1127
Harness racing Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 327
Rep Power: 12 titans1127 is on a distinguished road
I used it for a month and gave up after the subscription expired. App needs major fixing. No issues with the streams themselves but when trying to go back to the main menu after watching one track for any real length of time would just yield me a black screen and I would have to pull the power and reboot the Roku box.

If I ever pay for a month of service again, I find it easier to hook my laptop up to an external monitor as a second screen and just use the browser in full screen.
titans1127 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
» Current Polls
Will Brick and Mortar only sports betting help horse racing?
If Brick and Mortar Only for 2 years it will help horse racing. - 47.37%
9 Votes
If NOT Brick and mortar only it will hurt horse racing. - 52.63%
10 Votes
Total Votes: 19
Non-members may not vote on this poll.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2018 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved -- Best Viewed in a modern browser @ 1280x720 Resolution Or Higher
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.