Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - General

Old 01-16-2018, 03:17 PM   #1
Teach

"Walter, I've Got Something Important To Tell You."

"Walter, I’ve got something important to tell you.” I thought to myself, “What has Barbara got to say that’s so important?”

Weeks earlier, I’ve had taken my seat on that first day of classes at a Boston-area college. I was a graduate student in that summer of ’65. I remember -- just before the class started – that I glanced off to my right. I immediately spotted a beautiful, young woman. She was striking. Stunning. A round, angelic face that was framed by a page-boy look. Sunglasses were perched on her forehead. My heart skipped a beat. My first thought was: “I’ve got to meet her.”

As our professor was going over the course syllabus, I was sneaking glances at this lovely co-ed. If my eyes were iron filaments, Barbara’s face was the magnet.

The next day, even before our class started, the burning question was: “How do I meet her?” My attempt to broach a conversation is made even more difficult by the fact that I’m admittedly shy. Reticent. Awkward. Especially when it comes to women. Yet, I’m thinking, “I can’t let her get away. I just can’t.” That day’s class came to an end.

As students are exiting the classroom, my “dream-girl” is walking right in front of me. I happen to notice that she’s carrying a paperback entitled “The Jungle.” I had read this Upton Sinclair novel about the abuses of the Chicago meat-packing industry in one of my undergraduate history classes. I knew, at that instant, that I had to say something. It was: “Now or never.” This was my chance.

It was at that instant I blurted out three words, “Pretty gory stuff!” Barbara nodded her head in agreement. That was “the ice-breaker”. We began to strike up a conversation.