Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 05-20-2009, 01:17 PM   #1
kaplan

Beginner Tips??

Hello, First time poster here. I'm brand new to this sport and was hoping to get some tips from you folks on where to begin. The only expierience I have with horses has come from watching HRTV/TVGAM the last 2 weeks. I've been betting football for years, and have decided to take up the Horses.

Where to start?

Thanks.
kaplan is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 05-20-2009, 01:31 PM   #2
jballscalls

Welcome to PA and to racing! It is truly a great sport and something you can hopefully enjoy for your entire lifetime.

i think the best thing to do is get some basic reading books, read alot of the handicapping discussion on here, and talk to as many other bettors as you can. Be a sponge and try to learn from what people tell you, but most of all, learn from their mistakes, because 98% of bettors dont make money in this game (me included) so try and see what they do wrong.

Steve Davidowitz' book is good, Betting Thoroughbreds
Bet with the Best is a good starter
and maybe Beyer on Speed.

Also Boomer Wry has some good books on racing, his website is
www.boomerhandicapsraces.com i believe. if thats not it just google it. he posts here on PA under boomman
Old 05-20-2009, 01:32 PM   #3
46zilzal
velocitician

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaplan
Hello, First time poster here. I'm brand new to this sport and was hoping to get some tips from you folks on where to begin. The only expierience I have with horses has come from watching HRTV/TVGAM the last 2 weeks. I've been betting football for years, and have decided to take up the Horses.

Where to start?

Thanks.
Learn LISTEN and make sure you make a paper profit before using REAL MONEY.

Modern Pace Handicapping by Brohamer even though he misses