Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > Handicapping Software

Old 03-10-2024, 03:47 PM   #1
wiretowire68

Pace Ratings

I am pretty new at making pace ratings. I was following Dave Schwartz simple example, I do understand FPS, my question in terms of distances and the math in terms of the furlongs when doing Pace Ratings when the distances change, I understand 6F, however, at 6 1/2 is it 2F 1st fraction and still 4F as the EP. My

My general question is does it change at 7F, 1M, etc. ie. 7F/2F=1st Rating 2nd Rating 7F/4F or does it change? and How about the Late Fraction? help or breakdown would be appreciated?
wiretowire68 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 03-10-2024, 05:49 PM   #2
Dave Schwartz

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiretowire68 View Post
I am pretty new at making pace ratings. I was following Dave Schwartz simple example, I do understand FPS, my question in terms of distances and the math in terms of the furlongs when doing Pace Ratings when the distances change, I understand 6F, however, at 6 1/2 is it 2F 1st fraction and still 4F as the EP. My

My general question is does it change at 7F, 1M, etc. ie. 7F/2F=1st Rating 2nd Rating 7F/4F or does it change? and How about the Late Fraction? help or breakdown would be appreciated?
OFFICIAL POINTS OF CALL (EqB)

But I think what you're looking for is the actual positional calls shown in the data for:

F1 = 1st call
EP = 2nd call
SC = Stretch Call

Let's clear the easiest up first.

SC is ALWAYS 1 furlong from the wire.

Next, let's concentrate on races shorter than 1 1/4 miles because as you get outside that, things change.

F1 is 2f from the gate in sprints and 4f from the gate in routes.

EP is 4f from the gate in sprints and 6f from the gate in routes.

Now, for some confusion...

The POINTS OF CALL do not always match the POINTS OF TIMING. What?