Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 04-18-2023, 11:32 AM   #1
PressThePace

Balancing Horses and Family Time

Haven’t seen many posts regarding this topic, so here goes.

I have been an active handicapper and horseplayer for over 30 years. I’m 51 and now have all 5 kids out of the house. Professionally, I’m a successful HS basketball coach, which if you don’t know, takes up an inordinate amount of time. But, when I’m not working, I want to dive into PP’s, past and present, whether I’m actively gambling or not. Love the game. Love the stimulation it provides. Must be a competitive thing, not sure. I’ve been profitable for many years now, but nothing extraordinary that would allow me to go further with it. Simply don’t have the time, as I’m searching for spots.

My issue that I need help with is being able to balance my time. The way I see it, this “game” allows me to decompress. I’m in a high-profile position in a medium sized community. I spend lots of time kissing babies and shaking hands, constantly taking phone calls and being surrounded by people. So, when I am home, I only want to “decompress”, fire up the laptop, and experience my own personal bliss. One problem…my wife. She has few hobbies and wants my time when I walk through the door. She has recently been dealing with some health issues, preventing her from working as much as she’d like. She’s finding herself getting bored. I completely get it and I want to show her empathy and give her the time she deserves. But, I also want “my time”. It just seems I don’t have that much time to go around. When family gatherings take place at our house, I find myself wanting to go in the other room and get my fix. Like I said, not so much a gambling issue as I don’t feel the need to actually place a bet. I just want to escape, I guess.