Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 03-24-2023, 04:13 PM   #1
Half Smoke

graded stakes or low level - which easier to profit

I've always felt it's more enjoyable to bet on a graded stakes race than on a low level race

and it also seems easier to profit on a high level race - you can often see some in the race who are talented and consistent

but I'm not really sure about that - it's just an anecdotal observation

obviously it would seem like a bad deal to bet really big on a low level race if your bet is big enough to knock the odds down

I'm not a pro betting racing

it turns me off when I look at a low level race and I see the fave has finishes something like - 7, 3, 4, 2, 6 - and the others are even worse

yes, I know there could be a good bet if one is dropping or if his speed or pace figures are superior - but I tend to lose interest when I see that

what's your take on this - thanks

Last edited by Half Smoke; 03-24-2023 at 04:17 PM.
Half Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 03-24-2023, 05:00 PM   #2
thaskalos

I love mid-level claiming races for older horses on the dirt. And my next-favorites are the low-level claiming races for older horses on the dirt. But unfortunately for me, these races are few and far between...having given way to the turf races and the maidens. A sad state of affairs, IMO.
Old 03-24-2023, 05:09 PM   #3
sharkey11

always liked cheap claiming races made nice scores on them back in the day having learmed at suffok dowms U thats what there was but like the gentleman above says hard to find today and when you do theyre 5-7 horse fields
sharkey11 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 03-24-2023, 05:41 PM   #4
Nitro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Half Smoke View Post