Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > Handicapper's Corner

Old 05-11-2017, 11:30 AM   #1
PaceMaker

Which race to bet on

I've been working for about 8 months on handicapping races. So far I have decided that the bet I like is the Trifecta. I'm now trying to find races that I think the Trifecta will pay out more than others and if I can find that I feel pretty good about my handicapping. Any thoughts?
PaceMaker is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 05-11-2017, 11:36 AM   #2
PaceAdvantage
PA Steward

I recommend looking at field sizes of 9 or more, with a morning line favorite of 3-1 or higher...that is a decent way of weeding out races where the TRI is likely to pay less than you desire IMO...
PaceAdvantage is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 05-11-2017, 12:13 PM   #3
PaceMaker

thanks

Yes I know that and was trying to get maybe a different angle, and then there are some 5 or 6 horse races that pay out big
Old 05-11-2017, 12:14 PM   #4
PaceAdvantage
PA Steward

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaceMaker View Post
Yes I know that and was trying to get maybe a different angle
If I had known, I wouldn't have offered my opinion. My apologies...carry on
Old 05-11-2017, 12:49 PM   #5
TheOracle

Quote:
I've been working for about 8 months on handicapping races. So far I have decided that the bet I like is the Trifecta. I'm now trying to find races that I think the Trifecta will pay out more than others and if I can find that I feel pretty good about my handicapping. Any thoughts?
Hey PaceMaker

You might want to think about races on the Turf as opposed to Dirt

Right now, as of yesterday the average win payout on the Dirt at Belmont is $9

However, the average payout on the Turf is $14.70 that's almost a $6 difference in win payouts so the Trifectas are much higher right now on the Turf than the Dirt at Belmont