Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - Sports

Old 01-03-2019, 09:24 AM   #1
Teach

Fenway Park Tour

For almost twelve months during 2005, I worked as a Fenway Park Tour Guide.

Below, is a written account of what you might have heard and experienced on a typical “Fenway Tour”. It's an imaginary visit to MLB's oldest (1912) ballpark.

The Scene: The Souvenir Shop across the street from Fenway Park on Yawkey Way (now Jersey Street).

As I'm about to begin the tour, I have a headset connected to a "belly" mic around my waist. It's easier that way for everyone to hear. On average, there were about 15 to 20 people on each tour; yet there were as many as 50 or more “guests” on a single tour (most tours lasted just shy of one hour) and as few as one person (I took a guy who had to catch an Alitalia flight back to Italy).

"Hi everyone, my name is Walt. I’ll be your Fenway Park Tour Guide." (To break the ice) "Where’s everybody from? (Hands goes up) “Yes.” “I’m from Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania.” “Not far from Harrisburg,” I say. “Yes, that’s right.” “Where are you from, Sir?” “Windsor, Ontario, Canada.” “How ‘bout you, Sir?” “I’m from Cleveland.” “Ah, Home to the Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame, The Cleveland Indians, and the infamous ‘Canadian Soldiers’. Seriously, some people call Cleveland: “The Greatest Location in the Nation.”

“Well, let’s get started. Welcome to Boston, or as we Bostonians say: ‘Bah-stn.’ In the city of Boston, we have an alphabet that uses only 25 letters. The letter “R,” by and large, is missing. We might say to out-of-towners, “When you take a turn, don’t forget ‘to uze yah blinkah’!”