Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - Trading The Financial Markets

Old 03-17-2023, 09:10 AM   #1
Teach

Is It Too Late To Invest In Gold?

Is It too Late To Invest In Gold? In my opinion, the answer is “no.” In the name of full disclosure, I own two mining stocks, one is a world-wide “major”; the other is a fledgling “junior.” In my case, the “worm has turned.” My “winter of my discontent” has to into my spring bonanza.

Moreover, I personally believe this is just the beginning, If this were next month’s Boston Marathon, we’ve left Hopkinton and are arriving in towns like Framingham and Natick. There’s still nearly 20 miles ahead of us.

As I continue, you may be asking: "What is my rationale for my sanguine outlook for gold?" As a former history teacher, my motto has been: “The Past is Prologue." The past can often serve as a roadmap to the future. The past economic event that comes to mind, in this case, is The Great Depression. The 1920s was a booming economic period: “The Roaring 20's.” But that decade ended when the stock market crashed in the fall, 1929. No more a "chicken in every pot," two cars in every garage." Buying on margin was in vogue. As little as 10% down. But that would lead to "cover, cover, cover..."

Today, I personally see a similar scenario, not that I'm predicting a Great Depression 2.0. Yet with all money that's been pumped into the system, i.e. Q.E., etc. in recent years and interest rates, until recently, being extremely low, many have taken this as an economic "green light." No, there wasn’t "helicopter money", but darn close. You’d think you were in Ancient Rome: “Increase the dole!”

Furthermore, the events leading up to and including the Great Depression should be a lesson. There is little margin for error. There must be a "finger on the pulse" in this fast-changing economic climate.