Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > **TRIPLE CROWN TRAIL**

Old 04-24-2024, 09:57 AM   #1
bisket

Zig zagging in the stretch

Everyone looks at statistical historicals to guide their derby wagers. Many of the winners of preps this year have lugged in or out, not changed lead, or changed them multiple times in the stretch. I’ve been wagering on the derby for 45 years and I can’t remember one winner doing this in the stretch. I could be wrong, does anyone remember a winner that didn’t run professionally in the stretch? I remember a few years ago the events on the turn and we had our first disqualification. This could eliminate some of the favorites in this race.
bisket is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-24-2024, 10:57 AM   #2
Wiley
Horse Racing Connossieur

I had a similar thought while watching a head on of Sierra Leone veering left in the stretch of the Blue Grass. Looking just as much at his paddle wheel front left action too. SL was also reluctant to load in that race, took them quite awhile to get in the gate almost to the point of looking like a scratch. Vekoma is the last one I can remember with that type of drastic front action.

I remember Sunday Silence took a couple of weird steps mid stretch of his Derby, but that was a drying out track and thought it more due to that as he straightened up pretty quick afterwards.

Bet Twice did a weird veer out into Alysheba mid stretch, ended up running second. Alydar never changed leads and ran second.

I'm like you, I don't remember a horse running green and winning the Derby, at least in my racing lifetime of also around 45 years.

These are all just from memory so there might be others I am missing.

I think the lack of seasoning in most all of these horses is a contributing factor now and it will come to a point where a goof ball runner will win it.