Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 05-23-2007, 04:37 PM   #1
alexander99
Journeyman

Lightbulb Awesome E-Mail reply. Must read

Here is an e-mail reply from Joe Takach about the reality of beating this game consistently.

It is a great reality check, especially for those dreamers on here touting Computer Programs, and BS instant rating systems.

Here it is:

Hi Alexander,

Making a living at this game is a tall order and you must have "proprietary" betting information to do so.

I've been doing it now for over 30 years and will turn 61 in June.

The proprietary or "inside information" you need is gathered in the paddock to see a horse's race day physicality, as well as doing your own private research so that you have information that few others have.

I might mention that I drive 120 miles a day round trip to and from the 3 different tracks so that I can be on track every racing day.

I get up every morning at 4 am and rarely go to bed before 10 that night.

I put in at least 100 hours a week at this and my 5 staff members all work at least 70 hour weeks.

Getting the picture?

I've been around racehorses since I was 7. I exercised over 8,000 of them when I was in my late teens and learned this game from the bottom up.

This is the toughest game on the planet to beat on a consistent basis, but it can and is being done by those players willing to go the extra mile to get the right information.

My advice to you is to really think this through and make sure you are willing to put in at least 70 to 80 hour weeks.

If that's not a problem for you, go for it!

Have a good one,

Joe

Last edited by alexander99; 05-23-2007 at 04:41 PM.
alexander99 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 05-23-2007, 04:44 PM   #2
alexander99
Journeyman

Thanks to Joe for this insightful e-mail.