Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 02-08-2005, 04:40 PM   #1
Narrew

betting and money management

Hello All,

Just recently joined the board. I have a question on betting strategies. I am new to horse racing, but not to gambling in general. I have found money management is just as important as "the system". I have a friend that has been a long time bettor has suggested I started out pyramiding my bets with a win/place/show. He said it would it would lower my risk if the horse I choose finishes in the money. I have also read about dutching 2 horses. Would it make sense to combine the 2 betting strategies?

Another question, I read where many people just place a Win bet and maybe a Place bet. Why is that, is it because the lower ROI on the place/show? I am interested in hearing pros/cons on betting and other money management.

Thank you for your folks time.
Narrew is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-08-2005, 05:00 PM   #2
garyoz

IMO it is really important to remember that each time you make a win wager, all things being equal your expected ROI is minus .18, and exotic wagers are minus.22 to .28. (one exception is NYRA with its 15% win takeout, for as long as that is going to last). This is worse than making a hardway bet in a craps game. So the key is to be selective and making good bets. Making good bets (e.g., finding overlays) is what makes the game a challenge, but it also makes the learning curve stiff. Pyramiding the same bet size suggests that all wagers have an equal probability of a positive outcome. Personally, I don't think that is a very good strategy. Bet sizing relative to the magnitude of the overlay increases the probabilility of profitability. This is a very tough game. This is my opinion, hope it is helpful.
garyoz is offline   Reply With Quote Reply