Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > **TRIPLE CROWN TRAIL**

Old 05-04-2019, 11:03 PM   #1
MadVindication

What did you think of War of Will's run in the derby?

It is hard to say how he'd really have finished, since he was interfered with. I haven't watched the replay yet so just going by first impression. I think he overcame that inside post and ran really well. But I'm fairly new to the sport and perhaps I have a bias since he was one of my picks FTW.

Opinions? Of his trip/ability/anything

Jokes welcome too
MadVindication is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 05-04-2019, 11:28 PM   #2
metro

Gafflioine sent just enough to establish position and then seemingly had to fight some restraint to get WoW to settle. Rated nicely down the back side and midway through the 2nd turn. Obviously had plenty of horse since as he comes out of the turn he tries to steer outside the leader. After the near disaster the horse reengages and fights for an 1/8th or so then bottoms out.

In hindsight thought that if Tyler had stayed on the rail and waited until they turn for home before he engages the leader(s) the outcome might have been different. I did have tris 7-1-20 and 7-20-1, and horizontals finishing with the 1 though so I'm obviously biased a bit.
metro is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 05-04-2019, 11:30 PM   #3
boys at tosconova

i claim foul
boys at tosconova is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 05-04-2019, 11:37 PM   #4
Lemon Drop Husker
Veteran

He'll be 9/1 or so in the Preakness and I think I'ma gonna like that quite a bit.
Lemon Drop Husker is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 05-04-2019, 11:39 PM   #5
MadVindication

Quote:
Originally Posted by metro View Post