Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - Computers


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-18-2023, 10:53 PM   #1
OverlayHunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 396
Lost All Sound on My Laptop

This is the first time I've ever had this problem.

I installed 2 programs today - MixPad (captures streaming video) and Movavi (captures screen video and audio). Both appeared to work well.

After using them (at different times), I turned off my computer and when I restarted it about an hour later I had a message from a program that boots on startup. The message reads:
"The output sound device has not been initialized."

I've also seen some "Driver Error" messages.

This laptop has 3 sound-related keys - 1 that mutes, 1 that lowers volume, 1 that raises volume. None of them appear to be working.

I've scanned all the drivers and they all check out okay.

I wasn't paying attention when the computer was shutting down but I caught a glimpse of a Windows message related to Movavi that said something like it was preventing shut down but the computer shut down shortly afterwards.

I've uninstalled both programs - still no luck.

Does anyone have any ideas about what to check or try?
OverlayHunter is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 03:22 AM   #2
tupper
Registered User
 
tupper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 491
Sounds like a software problem, but if you want to test the sound hardware, simply boot a Linux live USB and play an MP3.
tupper is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 05:46 AM   #3
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 12,301
The first thing I would try is to right click the sound icon on the task bar and then Troubleshoot sound problems. I think they may have messed with your sound drivers.
Augenj is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 06:58 AM   #4
PaceAdvantage
PA Steward
 
PaceAdvantage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Del Boca Vista
Posts: 87,810
right click speaker icon in system tray...choose open sound settings...then check to see you have the correct OUTPUT DEVICE chosen...whatever you installed might have messed with the correct output device...and if you uninstalled something, it might also not be set to the usual and correct output device...there might be multiple options in there...pick the one that looks right, or keep changing them until you hear something

Oh, and make sure you're not muted...lol
__________________
@paceadvantage | Support the site and become a today!
PaceAdvantage is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 07:46 AM   #5
atlasaxis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,480
I had a similar problem and used a system restore point to resolve the issue.
__________________
"A winning horse either sets or overcomes the pace of the race it runs against" - Ray Taulbot
atlasaxis is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 09:12 AM   #6
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 52,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlasaxis View Post
I had a similar problem and used a system restore point to resolve the issue.
Ding!
__________________
WE ARE THE DUMBEST COUNTRY ON THE PLANET!
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 11:01 AM   #7
OverlayHunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 396
tupper, Augenj, PA, atlasaxis, and JustRalph thank you all for what are truly good ideas. Unfortunately, no luck so far.

When I hover the cursor over the speaker icon in the system tray (that icon has a white x in a red background on it) the following message appears: No Audio Output Device is installed.

The attached png file is related to the speaker icon in the system tray. Importantly, the Output and Input drop-down menus dont drop down; i.e., the choices you see in the png are the only choices available.

I thought I had system restore points, I was wrong. I must have turned them off for some reason years ago and forgot to turn them back on.

Any other thoughts?

If I were to update to Windows 11, could that update have potential to fix the problem?

Attached Images
File Type: png app-volume-device-pref.png (42.3 KB, 11 views)
OverlayHunter is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 01:38 PM   #8
rosenowsr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 81
go into device manager, double click on sound,double click display audio, click on update driver. If that doesn't work click disable driver, wait a second and click on enable driver.



ymmv
rosenowsr is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 02:00 PM   #9
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 52,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosenowsr View Post
go into device manager, double click on sound,double click display audio, click on update driver. If that doesn't work click disable driver, wait a second and click on enable driver.



ymmv
Or just remove the driver. Then reboot
__________________
WE ARE THE DUMBEST COUNTRY ON THE PLANET!
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 02:24 PM   #10
Stevecsd2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 640
Try unistalling MOVAVI first to see if that fixes. If not uninstall that other new program.
Stevecsd2 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-19-2023, 08:17 PM   #11
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 52,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevecsd2 View Post
Try unistalling MOVAVI first to see if that fixes. If not uninstall that other new program.
I've uninstalled both programs - still no luck.
__________________
WE ARE THE DUMBEST COUNTRY ON THE PLANET!
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-20-2023, 01:34 AM   #12
vegasone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 521
Check if your laptop website has a driver download. Also if its an Intel processor check Intel's website for any drivers if it is Intel audio chip. Also check which audio chip is used and check manufacturer website for a driver.


A check of the BIOS might be a good idea
vegasone is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-20-2023, 02:10 AM   #13
OverlayHunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 396
Quote:
go into device manager, double click on sound,double click display audio, click on update driver. If that doesn't work click disable driver, wait a second and click on enable driver.
rosenowsr, Thank you for your suggestion. I've not been able to find a screen with the exact labels you used. I've attached 3 screens I've been able to find. Do any of them have what you are suggesting? I apologize for being "thick" but this is beyond the outer limits of my experience.

Attached Images
File Type: png Sound-Control-Panel.png (33.8 KB, 3 views)
File Type: png Manage-Sound-Devices.png (21.0 KB, 6 views)
File Type: png Settings-Sound.png (84.4 KB, 4 views)
OverlayHunter is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-20-2023, 02:27 AM   #14
OverlayHunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 396
Quote:
Check if your laptop website has a driver download. Also if its an Intel processor check Intel's website for any drivers if it is Intel audio chip. Also check which audio chip is used and check manufacturer website for a driver.


A check of the BIOS might be a good idea
vegasone, thank you for the ideas. I tried the driver download and received a message that I had all the current drivers. I have also scanned the installed drivers and received a message that they are all fine.

I downloaded the Intel Driver & Support System software. I have to reboot to finish the install. I'll write again to let you know if it helps.

I also ran a registry repair but that did nothing related to the sound problem.
OverlayHunter is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-20-2023, 02:44 AM   #15
OverlayHunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 396
vegasone, to me at least, I believe the attached confirms that no drivers are needed.

Thanks again for your ideas.

Attached Images
File Type: png Intel-Updates.png (83.5 KB, 8 views)
OverlayHunter is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
» Current Polls
How do you primarily find bettable horses?
Make a formal odds line - 21.70%
23 Votes
Rank the horses in order of preference & compare it to the odds - 21.70%
23 Votes
Feel - 12.26%
13 Votes
Only play against short priced horses I dislike - 5.66%
6 Votes
Look for value oriented trips, angles, situations - 33.02%
35 Votes
Other (describe) - 5.66%
6 Votes
Total Votes: 106
This poll is closed.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2023 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.