Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - General

Old 01-28-2021, 04:12 PM   #1
rastajenk
Just Deplorable

Gamestop

I have nothing much to start a thread, but I know some of you must have some thoughts on this. I have no market experience, but my usual go-to links suggest it's a populist uprising against Wall St without pooping on police cars.

Am I wrong to side with the little guys (as usual)?

I would never have seen Gamestop as a center of controversy, of all things, I have to admit.

Last edited by rastajenk; 01-28-2021 at 04:13 PM.
rastajenk is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 01-28-2021, 04:15 PM   #2
davew

it is a war against the market manipulators and stock market shorters by playing their own game against them.
davew is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 01-28-2021, 04:18 PM   #3
thaskalos

Isn't this what the hedge funds have been doing all along? Why the outrage now?
Old 01-28-2021, 04:35 PM   #4
Light
Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaskalos View Post
Isn't this what the hedge funds have been doing all along? Why the outrage now?
Because some hedge fund managers got a taste of their own medicine to the tune of $5B.

https://markets.businessinsider.com/...1-1-1030016596
Light is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 01-28-2021, 10:27 PM   #5
ReplayRandall
Buckle Up

David Portnoy of Barstool DESTROYS Robinhood for CHEATING

ReplayRandall is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 01-28-2021, 10:34 PM   #6
davew

It was not just Robinhood, but also Ameritrade, Schwab, Interactive Brokers, TastyWorks....

and they did it because their clearing house(s) told them they must.

tomorrow will be interesting because many expirations expire and even people that put in option spreads were unable to liquidate because one side involved would be a buy.
davew is online now   Reply With Quote Reply