Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > Handicapping Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-15-2022, 12:32 PM   #1
PressThePace
Registered User
 
PressThePace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 525
Software That Eliminates Running Lines

I'm looking for software that incorporates BRIS PP data and will let me eliminate certain running lines within a horse's PP's. Can anyone offer any insight?
PressThePace is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 12:37 PM   #2
Bustin Stones
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 355
Depends on what you want to hide. Bris PP generator already has a filtering option.
Bustin Stones is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 12:53 PM   #3
PressThePace
Registered User
 
PressThePace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bustin Stones View Post
Depends on what you want to hide. Bris PP generator already has a filtering option.
An example would be wanting to eliminate the last start in a horse's PP line because of track condition or terrible trip.
PressThePace is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 12:59 PM   #4
ranchwest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: near Lone Star Park
Posts: 4,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by PressThePace View Post
I'm looking for software that incorporates BRIS PP data and will let me eliminate certain running lines within a horse's PP's. Can anyone offer any insight?
I'm curious. Are you wanting the line to not appear at all? Or, maybe be dimmed out? And, what if you want it to reappear? How would you ideally get it back?
__________________
Ranch West
Equine Performance Analyst
ranchwest is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 01:22 PM   #5
PressThePace
Registered User
 
PressThePace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranchwest View Post
I'm curious. Are you wanting the line to not appear at all? Or, maybe be dimmed out? And, what if you want it to reappear? How would you ideally get it back?
I'm really just wanting to eliminate it completely...as if the race never existed. Ideally, I would like to then see the ratings readjusted after the elimination of said race.

One issue I have is that I use a Mac and the software doesn't support it.
PressThePace is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 01:28 PM   #6
ranchwest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: near Lone Star Park
Posts: 4,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by PressThePace View Post
I'm really just wanting to eliminate it completely...as if the race never existed. Ideally, I would like to then see the ratings readjusted after the elimination of said race.

One issue I have is that I use a Mac and the software doesn't support it.
How are you able to utilize the BRIS files through your Mac?
__________________
Ranch West
Equine Performance Analyst
ranchwest is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 01:31 PM   #7
Speed Figure
DJ M.Walk
 
Speed Figure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Compton, CA!
Posts: 1,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by PressThePace View Post
I'm really just wanting to eliminate it completely...as if the race never existed. Ideally, I would like to then see the ratings readjusted after the elimination of said race.

One issue I have is that I use a Mac and the software doesn't support it.
You can use parallels desktop on a mac and use windows perfectly!
Speed Figure is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 01:33 PM   #8
PressThePace
Registered User
 
PressThePace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Figure View Post
You can use parallels desktop on a mac and use windows perfectly!
Thank You!!
PressThePace is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 01:35 PM   #9
PressThePace
Registered User
 
PressThePace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranchwest View Post
How are you able to utilize the BRIS files through your Mac?
I don't. I only download the PP's.
PressThePace is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 01:50 PM   #10
Dave Schwartz
 
Dave Schwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 16,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Figure View Post
You can use parallels desktop on a mac and use windows perfectly!
Even on new MacBook Pros?

They only run 64-bit programs.
Dave Schwartz is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 02:13 PM   #11
Speed Figure
DJ M.Walk
 
Speed Figure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Compton, CA!
Posts: 1,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Schwartz View Post
Even on new MacBook Pros?

They only run 64-bit programs.
Far is I know it works on all of them. I'm using two MacBook Pros from 2019 and I've had no problems with it. https://www.parallels.com/
Speed Figure is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 02:54 PM   #12
Tom
The Voice of Reason!
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Canandaigua, New york
Posts: 108,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by PressThePace View Post
An example would be wanting to eliminate the last start in a horse's PP line because of track condition or terrible trip.
FOXIT reader, annotate the PPs.

Attached Images
File Type: png strike.PNG (152.3 KB, 52 views)
__________________
Who does the Racing Form Detective like in this one?
Tom is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 11:20 PM   #13
PressThePace
Registered User
 
PressThePace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 525
To be clear, I'm looking for a program that could totally eliminate a race from the running line, then reconfigure the ratings based on the elimination(s) of the PP data that was adjusted. For instance, how would the Prime Power figure change if I eliminated (erased) the most recent race of a particular horse in the field?
PressThePace is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-15-2022, 11:33 PM   #14
Speed Figure
DJ M.Walk
 
Speed Figure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Compton, CA!
Posts: 1,999
Prime Power is already calculated so eliminating lines is not going to change the rating. Obviously if you came up with your own rating then eliminating lines would change what the rating is.
Speed Figure is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 04-16-2022, 12:21 AM   #15
PressThePace
Registered User
 
PressThePace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed Figure View Post
Prime Power is already calculated so eliminating lines is not going to change the rating. Obviously if you came up with your own rating then eliminating lines would change what the rating is.
Yeah, I get that. Just wondering if there is software out there (with ratings) that could change by eliminating races from running lines.
PressThePace is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2022 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.