Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - General

Old 11-15-2012, 07:28 PM   #1
tbwinner

Goodbye Twinkies? +Quote on "Entitlement Society"

Now, I'm not an expert in labor/management relations, but it seems the actions of 6,000 could affect 18,000 employees tomorrow. The Union of 6,000 Hostess employees refuses to take the 8% pay cut in order to remain in operations during Ch 11 reorganization and could force Hostess to go into liquidation, thereby cutting all 18k jobs.

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/c...,6249411.story

The last sentence/quote speaks mountains about the entitlement society that extended unemployment has created:
"But if I have to take the cuts they're talking about I can get more from unemployment."
tbwinner is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-15-2012, 07:36 PM   #2
Marshall Bennett

Oh shit, I love twinkies and those orange icing cream filled cupcakes.
Marshall Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-15-2012, 08:21 PM   #3
wisconsin

Someone will buy the rights, like Hostess did Dolly Madison, and they'll all be working for less. They get what they ask for.
Old 11-15-2012, 08:27 PM   #4
Dave Schwartz

Quote:
"But if I have to take the cuts they're talking about I can get more from unemployment."
And there you have the whole story.
Dave Schwartz is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 11-15-2012, 10:07 PM   #5
Tom
The Voice of Reason!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Schwartz
And there you have the whole story.
GD leeches...every one of them.
Union boys......they are an insult to this country.

I hope they re-open under a new name off shore - a country that supports labor union doesn't deserve jobs. Losing union jobs is never a bad thing.
Old 11-15-2012, 11:18 PM   #6
Robert Fischer
clean money