Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - Computers


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-17-2018, 06:44 PM   #16
JustRalph
Just another Facist
 
JustRalph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Now in Houston
Posts: 41,457
Rep Power: 65 JustRalph is a splendid one to beholdJustRalph is a splendid one to beholdJustRalph is a splendid one to beholdJustRalph is a splendid one to beholdJustRalph is a splendid one to beholdJustRalph is a splendid one to beholdJustRalph is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by AltonKelsey View Post
I suspect Alienware is the APPLE of the PC world.


Ok, but massively overpriced


32 gig of ram?


I doubt if anything over 16 gig ever gets used unless you're editing video. And Not sure its all that much faster than an SSD even for that .
Youíre right. I edit video.

Btw, yep....I could build it a little cheaper. I donít do it anymore because Iím lazy. The difference in price I could care less anymore.
__________________
DROWNING IN GRAVY!
JustRalph is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-18-2018, 01:36 AM   #17
PaceAdvantage
PA Steward
 
PaceAdvantage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 57,651
Rep Power: 87 PaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud of
I had an Alienware before my latest PC. It was a freakin' TANK. Literally...weighed in close to 50lbs at least...no joke...

I went from THAT to this tiny thing:

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/one

Talk about extremes...
__________________
@paceadvantage | Support the site and become a today!

Last edited by PaceAdvantage; 09-18-2018 at 01:45 AM.
PaceAdvantage is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-18-2018, 03:36 AM   #18
NorCalGreg
 
NorCalGreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 6,044
Rep Power: 10 NorCalGreg is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaceAdvantage View Post
I had an Alienware before my latest PC. It was a freakin' TANK. Literally...weighed in close to 50lbs at least...no joke...

I went from THAT to this tiny thing:

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/one

Talk about extremes...
Dizzammmmmm.....I can buy a computer, a car, a suit, dinner, and get my shoes shined for that kind of money.

This is my speed right here (this is actually a good price)



__________________
.
.


*Newsletter sign-up
https://tinyletter.com/NorCalGreg


.

*As seen on PaceAdvantage.com, Phillips Racing Newsletter, Horseplayer Monthly, EastCoast PonyPicks... and the laptops of horseplayers everywhere!
NorCalGreg is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-18-2018, 04:23 AM   #19
PaceAdvantage
PA Steward
 
PaceAdvantage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 57,651
Rep Power: 87 PaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud of
I got it last September...why do you think I started asking for donations four months later?
__________________
@paceadvantage | Support the site and become a today!
PaceAdvantage is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-18-2018, 10:21 AM   #20
Dave Schwartz
 
Dave Schwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 14,182
Rep Power: 36 Dave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by AltonKelsey View Post
I suspect Alienware is the APPLE of the PC world.


Ok, but massively overpriced


32 gig of ram?


I doubt if anything over 16 gig ever gets used unless you're editing video. And Not sure its all that much faster than an SSD even for that .
Or if you have a lot of cores.
Dave Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-18-2018, 01:56 PM   #21
Ocala Mike
Registered User
 
Ocala Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,102
Rep Power: 15 Ocala Mike is a jewel in the roughOcala Mike is a jewel in the roughOcala Mike is a jewel in the rough
Naive about computers, but happy with my new Dell Inspiron laptop running Windows 10. I don't play on-line games, and I don't edit videos; sticker says "Intel Core 13." Is that good?
Ocala Mike is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-18-2018, 04:04 PM   #22
headhawg
Registered User
 
headhawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Virtual Reality hell
Posts: 2,927
Rep Power: 18 headhawg is on a distinguished road
The short answer is if your laptop works fine for you then it's good. To keep things simple, Intel Core processors come in three flavors -- I3, I5, and I7. (Well, the I9 now too.) And there are mobile (laptop) versions of each. So you have the lowest end of the Core CPUs but, as I wrote, if it works for you (doesn't seem slow) then it's good enough.
__________________
"Don't believe everything that you read on the Internet." -- Abraham Lincoln
headhawg is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-18-2018, 04:07 PM   #23
Dave Schwartz
 
Dave Schwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 14,182
Rep Power: 36 Dave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocala Mike View Post
Naive about computers, but happy with my new Dell Inspiron laptop running Windows 10. I don't play on-line games, and I don't edit videos; sticker says "Intel Core 13." Is that good?
It's actually an I3.


Quote:
Is a Core i3 processor good?
Desktop users don't need to worry about battery life, so a more powerful Core i5 processor is a good choice. ... Hyper-Threading has been available on some Core i5 processors as of the second generation (Core i5-2XXX CPUs and later) and on Core i3 processors as of the fourth generation (i3-4xxx and later).Jul 4, 2015
Question is, "How much RAM do you have?"

Win10 absolute bare bones minimum would be 6GB but 8GB is more realistic. I'd want 16GB as a minimum.

BTW, if you don't like the look of the Win10 desktop, you can buy this $5 product.

Start10
Dave Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-18-2018, 04:36 PM   #24
Ocala Mike
Registered User
 
Ocala Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,102
Rep Power: 15 Ocala Mike is a jewel in the roughOcala Mike is a jewel in the roughOcala Mike is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Schwartz View Post



It's actually an I3.




So it is! 76-yo eyes, don't fail me now!
Ocala Mike is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-20-2018, 09:44 AM   #25
Dave Schwartz
 
Dave Schwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 14,182
Rep Power: 36 Dave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really nice
About old machines...

I've had most of my little NOC (Network Operations Center) unplugged for awhile. (8 computers that I use for various A.I. runs I do from time to time.)

One of these machines has been our print server for a long time. Maybe, 2003 or so.

On Monday that faithful old soldier, CIGAR, finally died of "popped capacitors." Basically, needs a new motherboard.

No big deal. I've got plenty of those machines. I grabbed with FRANKEL, plugged it in, powered it up and... SNAP!!! Blown capacitors!

In succession... MAXWELL (named after the horse that seemed to run forever), SECRETARIAT, and ALYDAR... plugged them in and they failed instantly.

Just be aware that old machines simply die and are just not worth bringing back to life.



The solution was to connect the HP ink jet printer wirelessly. This was amazingly easy.
  1. Hook up a laptop that connects wirelessly to the network, directly to the printer (via USB).
  2. Configure the printer with newest drivers via the laptop.
  3. Disconnect the laptop's USB.

The printer is now available wirelessly to every machine in the network, even the ones that are not wireless!


BTW, the reason we had a print server to begin with is that we have an old HP MP6 laser printer (now 21 years old) that we still used for the occasional big print job.

That laser printer is now a boat anchor to be donated.
Dave Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-20-2018, 07:41 PM   #26
vegasone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 288
Rep Power: 12 vegasone is on a distinguished road
I remember I fixed several MBs with that problem. One of them directly from Intel. Someone was supplying crap caps and they were blowing up after a year or so. Thatís why they advertise MBs with high end caps now, if you ever build your own. Was industry wide issue. Early 2000ís I believe.
vegasone is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-20-2018, 08:09 PM   #27
DeltaLover
Registered user
 
DeltaLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FALIRIKON DELTA
Posts: 4,432
Rep Power: 14 DeltaLover will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Schwartz View Post
About old machines...

I've had most of my little NOC (Network Operations Center) unplugged for awhile. (8 computers that I use for various A.I. runs I do from time to time.)
Dave, if you need this kind of network topology you should consider using a cloud based solution; doing so will eliminate the need for physical machines as it will be trivial to create VMs using docker and spawn as many as you wish without the hassle of maintaining old machines.

Both AWS(Amazon) and azure(MS) can be used for this purpose:

https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AmazonEC...er-basics.html

https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/se...FctcDAodOz8Eeg
__________________
whereof one cannot speak thereof one must be silent
Ludwig Wittgenstein
DeltaLover is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-20-2018, 08:19 PM   #28
Buckeye
Smarty Pants
 
Buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Every Vote Counts
Posts: 2,230
Rep Power: 22 Buckeye has a spectacular aura aboutBuckeye has a spectacular aura aboutBuckeye has a spectacular aura about
Uninstall Chrome.

It can work wonders!

I never dreamed it could be so simple.
Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-20-2018, 10:20 PM   #29
Dave Schwartz
 
Dave Schwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 14,182
Rep Power: 36 Dave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaLover View Post
Dave, if you need this kind of network topology you should consider using a cloud based solution; doing so will eliminate the need for physical machines as it will be trivial to create VMs using docker and spawn as many as you wish without the hassle of maintaining old machines.

Both AWS(Amazon) and azure(MS) can be used for this purpose:
Last time I looked those were very expensive solutions.
Dave Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-21-2018, 09:07 AM   #30
vegasone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 288
Rep Power: 12 vegasone is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AltonKelsey View Post
I suspect Alienware is the APPLE of the PC world.


Ok, but massively overpriced


32 gig of ram?


I doubt if anything over 16 gig ever gets used unless you're editing video. And Not sure its all that much faster than an SSD even for that .
There is a world of difference between running data in memory and off an SSD.

The newer M.2 drives make the difference less but still not even close.
vegasone is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
» Current Polls
What is your most successful handicapping trait/tool?
Patience - 14.18%
40 Votes
Experience - 17.02%
48 Votes
Number crunching - 6.38%
18 Votes
Sheets / Thorograph / TimeformUS / DRF / Equibase, etc. - 11.70%
33 Votes
Software - 15.96%
45 Votes
Very specific races/angles - 10.64%
30 Votes
Jockey/Trainer angles - 6.03%
17 Votes
Other - 18.09%
51 Votes
Total Votes: 282
This poll is closed.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2018 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved -- Best Viewed in a modern browser @ 1280x720 Resolution Or Higher
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.