Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - Computers


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 08-28-2018, 01:54 PM   #1
Jeff P
Registered User
 
Jeff P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: JCapper Platinum: Kind of like Deep Blue... but for horses.
Posts: 3,042
Rep Power: 22 Jeff P has a spectacular aura aboutJeff P has a spectacular aura aboutJeff P has a spectacular aura about
Malwarebytes

I recently installed a new paid for version of Malwarebytes. The newer version has the standard Malwarebytes and the Browser Anti-Exploit combined into a single package. Initially thought this was kind of cool. (Previous versions of Malwarebytes I had been running had these as two separate packages.)

Almost immediately after the install my machine began running noticeably slower.

A quick look at the performance tab in Task Manager showed (literally) almost no free ram (and at all times.) The lone exception being right after a machine restart.

However, subsequent checks a few minutes after each restart showed the machine to have run out of free ram again.

A look at the processes tab in Task Manager after checking the show processes all users box didn't reveal any unusual processes.

Yet based on the performance of the machine and the fact that the machine had no free ram (literally) at all times suggested something must be running in the background (eating up available ram.)

I say that because prior to installing Malwarebytes - unless I had a zillion program windows open - whenever I'd look at the performance tab in Task Manager the machine almost always had at least 2 gigabytes of free ram.

After operating my now sluggish machine for a day and a half (a machine that had previously been lightning fast btw) I decided to make a good faith effort to eliminate possible causes through process of elimination.

I began testing everything on the machine that had recently changed. This included Windows Updates, browser updates - and finally Malwarebytes.

After eliminating Windows Updates and updates to Chrome and Firefox as possible causes:

I tried bringing up Task Manager, going to the processes tab, right clicking Malwarebytes, and ending the process.

As soon as I did that - Malwarebytes auto-loaded itself as a new process (causing my machine to lock up/freeze for several seconds.) A quick look at the performance tab in Task Manager afterwards revealed the machine had run out of free ram again.

I repeated this step several times (in hopes I could test the amount of free ram on my machine without Malwarebytes running) to no avail.

So I went into Control Panel and uninstalled Malwarebytes -- followed by a restart.

After restarting the machine and allowing it to go through its boot up cycle:

I went into Task Manager, clicked the processes tab, checked the display processes all users box, scrolled through the processes - and confirmed Malwarebytes was no longer running.

A look at the performance tab in Task Manager showed the machine had (its normal) more than 2 gigabytes of free ram once again.

And of course the machine was now running lightning fast again. (As has been the case since I uninstalled Malwarebytes.)

Malwarebytes had always been one of those programs I considered indispensable.

But if running it means slowing every machine I install it on to a crawl:

How indispensable can it really be?

Most concerning to me is that after installing Malwarebytes -- something was obviously running in the background and (literally) eating all of the machine's free ram.

But whatever that something was - it certainly wasn't showing up on the processes tab in Task Manager.

Has anybody else recently installed Malwarebytes and experienced something similar?



-jp

.
__________________
Team JCapper: 2011 PAIHL Regular Season ROI Leader after 15 weeks
www.JCapper.com

Last edited by Jeff P; 08-28-2018 at 02:06 PM. Reason: spelling/punctuation
Jeff P is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 02:23 PM   #2
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,164
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
No, I haven't installed MWB recently but I have UNinstalled it on all of the machines I am responsible for. At one time, it was indispensable to me since it caught and prevented nearly all malware intrusions. And I don't think they have a free version anymore, just a trial one.

I might get some blowback from this but I use the free Windows Defender for my virus and malware checker. It's gotten better over the years. Be sure to use the Windows Defender Browser Protection for additional security.
Augenj is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 02:25 PM   #3
KyRacer
Registered User
 
KyRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 130
Rep Power: 18 KyRacer is on a distinguished road
I googled "Malwarebytes free memory problem" and it brought up a lot of links to problems. Seems the high memory usage started back in January. I found this link on bleepingcomputer that might be of some help.

Memory Problem
KyRacer is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 02:30 PM   #4
PaceAdvantage
PA Steward
 
PaceAdvantage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 58,265
Rep Power: 89 PaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augenj View Post
No, I haven't installed MWB recently but I have UNinstalled it on all of the machines I am responsible for. At one time, it was indispensable to me since it caught and prevented nearly all malware intrusions. And I don't think they have a free version anymore, just a trial one.

I might get some blowback from this but I use the free Windows Defender for my virus and malware checker. It's gotten better over the years. Be sure to use the Windows Defender Browser Protection for additional security.
I downloaded the free version about a month ago, so it still exists...I don't keep it running in the background (it has an option)...I don't experience any memory issues or slowdowns, but then again, I don't utilize any of the real time options...and I make sure it doesn't load with windows (another option).
__________________
@paceadvantage | Support the site and become a today!
PaceAdvantage is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 03:08 PM   #5
Dave Schwartz
 
Dave Schwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 14,233
Rep Power: 36 Dave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff P View Post
Has anybody else recently installed Malwarebytes and experienced something similar?
-jp
.
Jeff,

This is a great point.

I have a whole lot of XP-era machines running Win7-32 bit. Since the max memory that Win-32 will see is 3GB, "available memory" is an important issue.

Yes, I, too, had the same experience with Malwarebytes - both the free and the pay-for version.

This caused me to do some research into what "free RAM" really means.

Free Memory and Available Memory in your Windows PC

This article explains it really well. The short version:

Quote:
What is Free Memory?
While free memory and available memory both have similar sounding names, free memory is exactly what it says it is. This is memory that is currently unused by the system and contains no useful data at all. It is free to be used by the system at any time. Simple as that.

What is Available Memory?
Here’s where things get a little bit tricky. Available memory contains all the memory that is available for use by the system. While this sounds extremely similar to free memory, it is actually a broader category that includes both free memory and cached memory. That is why your level of free and available memory will differ, regardless of their similar names and functions.

Available memory plays an important role in later versions of windows. Starting with Windows 7, Windows begins to pre-load files into available memory that it might need in the future. The idea is that if some of these files are already sitting in RAM, you will experience a noticeable increase in the speed of your machine. If this memory is going to be idle anyway, why not use it? If these files are not needed, they are easily swapped out of RAM in order to make room for something else.

From an application standpoint, I found that loading a new app (i.e. one that was not currently cached) took FAR longer to start. However, once it got going, the speed picked up.

All that being said, your assessment of Malwarebytes is exactly right because it HOGS that memory.


BTW, if you install the free version, it sits there doing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING because the free version does not contain real-time protection. It still HOGS the memory as well as the CPU!

My plan of attack was to dump the pay-for version and only install the free version when I wanted to do a system sweep. After the sweep is finished and things are cleaned up, I uninstall it immediately.


Hope this helped.

Dave

Last edited by Dave Schwartz; 08-28-2018 at 03:09 PM.
Dave Schwartz is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 03:18 PM   #6
Dave Schwartz
 
Dave Schwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 14,233
Rep Power: 36 Dave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really niceDave Schwartz is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augenj View Post
No, I haven't installed MWB recently but I have UNinstalled it on all of the machines I am responsible for. At one time, it was indispensable to me since it caught and prevented nearly all malware intrusions. And I don't think they have a free version anymore, just a trial one.

I might get some blowback from this but I use the free Windows Defender for my virus and malware checker. It's gotten better over the years. Be sure to use the Windows Defender Browser Protection for additional security.
Years ago Microsoft actually stated publicly that Defender does not do a very good job of protecting. Since then they've said different but I've never heard them say that it was competitive with others in the industry.

Most reviews of that product range from slightly negative to very negative.

The industry trend is definitely towards more and more bloat in these products. The best I have found thus far is Kaspersky.

It causes minimal slowdown and is cost-effective, but you have to know what to buy. Every year we purchase three x 3-machine package for $35. So, for 9 machines we pay $105 per year.

I tried another one this year - Sophos - which was amazingly cheap for a 10-machine license. It was an absolute pig! In addition, they told me it would not work with network drives.

Over the years I've checked out and discarded McAffee, Norton, AVG, Avast and dumped them all.


Dave
Dave Schwartz is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 04:12 PM   #7
cordoba
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 104
Rep Power: 0 cordoba is an unknown quantity at this point
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh Micro Trend
cordoba is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 04:50 PM   #8
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,164
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyRacer View Post
I googled "Malwarebytes free memory problem" and it brought up a lot of links to problems. Seems the high memory usage started back in January. I found this link on bleepingcomputer that might be of some help.

Memory Problem
Thanks for the link. I wonder if this version was ever tested before it went out the door? The same can be asked for Windows updates too, one of which bricked one of my older machines back in January.
Augenj is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 05:21 PM   #9
Augenj
Top Horse Analytics
 
Augenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 10,164
Rep Power: 16 Augenj will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaceAdvantage View Post
I downloaded the free version about a month ago, so it still exists...I don't keep it running in the background (it has an option)...I don't experience any memory issues or slowdowns, but then again, I don't utilize any of the real time options...and I make sure it doesn't load with windows (another option).
It's still free. My bad.
Augenj is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 08-28-2018, 06:44 PM   #10
DeltaLover
Registered user
 
DeltaLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FALIRIKON DELTA
Posts: 4,436
Rep Power: 15 DeltaLover will become famous soon enough

Attached Images
File Type: jpg linux-vs-window.jpg (45.3 KB, 191 views)
__________________
whereof one cannot speak thereof one must be silent
Ludwig Wittgenstein
DeltaLover is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-01-2018, 11:09 AM   #11
headhawg
Registered User
 
headhawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Virtual Reality hell
Posts: 2,949
Rep Power: 18 headhawg is on a distinguished road
I use Malwarebytes Premium 3.5.1 along with Bitdefender Total Security 2018. They work well together and I don't see any resource hogging. I do have 16 GB of RAM but Process Explorer indicates that MWB is only taking up about 180 MB of that. The only problem that I had was when update to Malwarebytes that caused the web protection to turn itself off, but that got resolved fairly quickly.
__________________
"Don't believe everything that you read on the Internet." -- Abraham Lincoln
headhawg is online now   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-03-2018, 02:13 AM   #12
AdvancedSetup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0 AdvancedSetup is on a distinguished road
Hi Jeff,


Malwarebytes should not be using all that much in regards to resources.



We have an online help support system as well as a forum to provide assistance if you need it.


I won't post the link as some forums frown upon 3rd party links and I'm not sure of the rules regarding that here.


A quick Google search should bring up our main website for Malwarebytes and a search for Forums and Malwarebytes should get you there. You can post and ask for help or send me a Private Message and I'll be glad to assist you and get things working properly.


Same username:

AdvancedSetup
Malwarebytes, Forum Community Manager


Cheers
AdvancedSetup is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-03-2018, 05:44 PM   #13
PaceAdvantage
PA Steward
 
PaceAdvantage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 58,265
Rep Power: 89 PaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud ofPaceAdvantage has much to be proud of
Sure, you can post the link. It's relative to this thread.

Thanks!
__________________
@paceadvantage | Support the site and become a today!
PaceAdvantage is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-13-2018, 02:43 PM   #14
AdvancedSetup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 0 AdvancedSetup is on a distinguished road
You can post a new topic here and someone will assist you.


https://forums.malwarebytes.com/foru...support-forum/


Thanks
AdvancedSetup is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-13-2018, 06:09 PM   #15
cj
@TimeformUSfigs
 
cj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 41,794
Rep Power: 66 cj is a splendid one to beholdcj is a splendid one to beholdcj is a splendid one to beholdcj is a splendid one to beholdcj is a splendid one to beholdcj is a splendid one to beholdcj is a splendid one to behold
I've had it installed for about a year now (the pay version) and never have had a problem. Computer is very fast and it works as advertised. Keeps me out of trouble when I'm looking for streaming sports. Lots of shady places out there.
cj is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Reply




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Advertisement
» Current Polls
What are the true odds of a Baffert Trifecta in the Kentucky Derby
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2018 -- PaceAdvantage.Com -- All Rights Reserved -- Best Viewed in a modern browser @ 1280x720 Resolution Or Higher
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program
designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.