Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Off Topic > Off Topic - Trading The Financial Markets

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 22 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 09-18-2014, 08:37 PM   #1
barn32
tmrpots

The M3 Options Trading System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pace Advantage
I used to be like that...then I started trading options...I like it better this way...one trade a month (unless I have to "adjust")....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barn32
Are you selling puts?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pace Advantage
Actually, long put RUT butterflies (Russell 2000 index), hedged with IWM (Russell ETF) calls...

You can read/watch more about what I'm currently doing here:

http://www.smbtraining.com/overview/m3
Well, I haven't quite watched all of the video, but so far I've only understood about 20% of it.

To fully get it I'm going to have to take a refresher course on the "greeks" and the butterfly spread.

But right off the top I have two questions:

1. In the video example trade he did an awful lot of adjusting, which generates a lot of commisions? No?

2. Is your loss on this trade capped out at 5K, or with all of the "adjusting" can you blow past that number if bad things happen?
barn32 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 09-19-2014, 01:26 PM   #2
PaceAdvantage
PA Steward

I understand it like this:

You should have $5000 for every "one" of these you want to trade. It generally costs me less than $2000 to get into the trade if you get in when he says to get in (about 50 days away from expiration). The closer you get to expiration, the more expensive these become.

The rest is in reserve in case you have to adjust.

No, one would never lose the entire $5000 (per butterfly), and I doubt very much if you'd even ever have $5,000 at risk (again, per butterfly...). Like I said, usually, I have less than $2,000 at risk at any time (per butterfly spread).