Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 02-10-2018, 08:39 PM   #1
BELMONT 6-6-09

Wagering without guesses, hunches or maybe's.

A day at the track can be very interesting simply just listening to the reasons bettors have for wagering on a horse(s). The more you listen the more the theme never changes " I HOPE this horse can get the lead...MAYBE this trainer can change this horse. This trainer or jockey stiffed this horse last time out MAYBE today they will be trying etc.Wishing, hoping guessing simply does not cut it.

I am far from an expert in handicapping BUT it seems imperative if you are attempting to play for profit to wager only when you have a strong reason, backed by careful record keeping to make a wager and making sure the wager has VALUE. Why wager on a situation where you don't have the percentages in your favor?

Like the 'old' adage a good bet is a bet that you would make again even if it lost, because in the long run you know the bet was a good bet and when dealing with good bets you want to let the percentages play themselves out over a long period of time.
BELMONT 6-6-09 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 02-10-2018, 11:59 PM   #2
CincyHorseplayer

So many horses win and lose in races that don't play out the way you imagine or they don't conform to their running style that I lost those kind of rationalizations. You are betting overall ability most times and if a horse has it they can win in many ways.