Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board

Go Back   Horse Racing Forum - PaceAdvantage.Com - Horse Racing Message Board > Thoroughbred Horse Racing Discussion > General Handicapping Discussion

Old 04-30-2012, 02:29 AM   #1
Krudler

Mark Cramer's Short Form Methodology

Calling All Cramer Short Form Methodology Users

I'm a newbie to playing the horses and the PA Forum, and I've been struggling to find a way to balance work, family, wellness, and my recently developed passion for investing at the race track. In an effort to improve my game, I've read countless books on handicapping and found that the Short Form Methodology outlined in Mark Cramer's latest text, Handicapping On The Road, has helped me save time and actually make some money.

The Short Form provides an simple, elegant, and flexible method for finding the contenders in a race and, through that process, for determining whether races are playable or not.

The wrinkle is that I'm not finding many playable races, races in which over 1/2 the field is a quality elimination based on the 2 major short form criteria: (1) 2 time loser at the level of today's race or lower and (2) less than 12% trainer. There are a few exceptions but that's the gist of the process.

In the notes that accompany the SF software page on the RPM website, Cramer indicates that the SF Method works best with claiming races. That's what I've been playing thus far and I play mostly at Turf Paradise and my local track, Hastings Park in Vancouver, Canada.

From looking at the forum over the past few months, I know there are lots of PA members intrigued by the ideas of Cramer. With that in mind, is anyone else using the Short Form method? If so, have you found any tracks or race types that lend themselves particularly well to this approach?