PDA

View Full Version : My Breeders' Cup Bet Back List

PaceAdvantage
11-22-2012, 11:05 AM
OK, so after the Breeders' Cup, I posted on here that I thought I'd do something I have never done before. Create a stable alert list of horses I thought were negatively impacted by what I think was a pretty clear early speed bias on Breeders' Cup Friday/Saturday at Santa Anita.

The first of those horses has been entered to run Saturday at Hollywood (not a track known to be kind to speed horses, so take that for what it's worth).

In any event, I intend to use this thread to see how my horses off this list perform.

First up...Conkate...entered in the 8th race at Hollywood on Saturday.

sammy the sage
11-22-2012, 04:09 PM
a good interesting thread to start...bit of a red board...my 1st was Il Villiano...who just ran not so hot at Penn...

Thought 2 back...dead rail...last at cup...just the opposite...a victim of inside speed bias...guess he's just not good enough.

Any other's show up...I'll post...

Fri...like Take Charge Indy...last was just a tightener...hope he's good enough...not Breeder's but a Derby bet back...

Curious...don't remember the horse you're posting about...any particular reason why?

PaceAdvantage
11-22-2012, 05:55 PM
Conkate ran on the under card BC Friday...

windoor
11-22-2012, 06:09 PM
I do something similar, in that I track horses that I played to win, but for what ever reason, they did not hit the board. If they ran fourth or better, I just count it as a loss and move on. I see it as a contender that wasn't quite good enough.

If they at least showed a little early speed (or had an obvious excuse) during the race, I'll play them the next time out. Regardless of any other handicapping factors and doing nothing other than that, I still get a decent hit rate and an above average odd. Works for me.

Regards,

Windoor

sammy the sage
11-22-2012, 09:24 PM
Conkate ran on the under card BC Friday...

guess I wasn't clear...and I can see why in hindsight.