PDA

View Full Version : Goodbye Twinkies? +Quote on "Entitlement Society"

tbwinner
11-15-2012, 07:28 PM
Now, I'm not an expert in labor/management relations, but it seems the actions of 6,000 could affect 18,000 employees tomorrow. The Union of 6,000 Hostess employees refuses to take the 8% pay cut in order to remain in operations during Ch 11 reorganization and could force Hostess to go into liquidation, thereby cutting all 18k jobs.

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/ch-twinkies-hostess-wonder-bread-strike,0,6249411.story

The last sentence/quote speaks mountains about the entitlement society that extended unemployment has created:
"But if I have to take the cuts they're talking about I can get more from unemployment."

Marshall Bennett
11-15-2012, 07:36 PM
Oh shit, I love twinkies and those orange icing cream filled cupcakes.

wisconsin
11-15-2012, 08:21 PM
Someone will buy the rights, like Hostess did Dolly Madison, and they'll all be working for less. They get what they ask for.

Dave Schwartz
11-15-2012, 08:27 PM
"But if I have to take the cuts they're talking about I can get more from unemployment."

And there you have the whole story.

Tom
11-15-2012, 10:07 PM
And there you have the whole story.

GD leeches...every one of them.
Union boys......they are an insult to this country.

I hope they re-open under a new name off shore - a country that supports labor union doesn't deserve jobs. Losing union jobs is never a bad thing.

Robert Fischer
11-15-2012, 11:18 PM
Apparently Hostess is working the system to their benefit, about 1000x more than any of the employees.

CHAPTER 11 REORGANIZATION ??

THREATENING TO LIQUIDATE 18,000 JOBS IF 8% PAY-CUT NOT ACCEPTED??

Hostess is a major FAIL working the system big time, and yet you guys want to focus on some quote some idiot employee said about unemployment benefits?

There are bad union practices out there, but not accepting an 8% pay-cut isn't exactly a dirty union tactic.

johnhannibalsmith
11-15-2012, 11:31 PM