PDA

View Full Version : Computer Help Windows XP

ljb
01-27-2004, 12:34 PM
Hello,
I am trying to access a web site and keep getting an error message. Need http:// and search for 403.4
This tells me i need ssl.
When i go to tools and security it says i have two levels of ssl.
Can this be fixed on my puter or do i have to download from mickey soft to fix error? This is my new laptop which i am still learning about.
Thanks for your help

Amazin
01-27-2004, 12:46 PM
LJB:

Maybe this will help:

Issue: A Microsoft IIS web server is returning the following error when attempting to use a Netstructure appliance to handle SSL:

HTTP Error 403
403.4 Forbidden: SSL required
This error indicates that the page you are trying to access is secured with Secure Sockets Layer (SSL). In order to view it, you need to enable SSL by typing "https://" at the beginning of the address you are attempting to reach.
Please contact the Web server's administrator if the problem persists.

Cause: The IIS web server had been configured to only allow SSL connections. Now that the Netstructure appliance is handling the SSL connection, only clear text HTTP connections will be reaching the web server.

Solution: Disable the forcing of SSL connections. Do this by performing the following steps:

1. Launch Internet Services Manager on the IIS web server.
2. Expand the web server to display the web sites.
3. Right click on the web site you will be modifying and select Properties.
4. Select the Directory Security tab.
5. Click on the Edit button of the Secure Communications part section.
6. Uncheck Require secure channel (SSL) checkbox.
7. Click on the OK button twice.

ljb
01-27-2004, 01:07 PM
That is the correct error message and i hate to admit to my computer ignorance but, i don't know how to do the first step. And i am out here with no printer so will probably have `to keep coming back for more instructions.

headhawg
01-27-2004, 01:41 PM
ljb,