PDA

View Full Version : I don't believe the numbers

Actor
07-28-2012, 05:55 PM
I've never gotten book value for my car when I trade it in. And I've never been able to talk a dealer down to book value when buying a used car. Maybe I'm just a lousy horse trader but I think this is the experience of most people.

Where are they getting these numbers from anyway?

Tom
07-28-2012, 06:03 PM

CBO?

Overlay
07-28-2012, 06:05 PM
I don't know about the exact source of the "blue book" values, but I've found it helpful when shopping for a price not to wait until my current car is on its last legs, or I'm under some other kind of time pressure for the purchase. The ability to walk away (especially after I've indicated that I'm ready to buy immediately if the price is right) has been effective for me in getting salesmen to a level that I'll accept.

TJDave
07-28-2012, 06:30 PM
I've never gotten book value for my car when I trade it in. And I've never been able to talk a dealer down to book value when buying a used car. Maybe I'm just a lousy horse trader but I think this is the experience of most people.

Depends on whether they intend to resell or wholesale. I don't buy new but my wife trades her car yearly. The dealer retails her trade-in. She gets a good deal.

fast4522
07-28-2012, 07:28 PM
It is much like poker, the car dealer has good months and also sometimes bad months. If the sales are hot at that dealership for the month you are not likely to get a great deal, if on the other hand the dealer is sitting on inventory that has been there too long they are more inclined to make less profit on your trade to open a footprint and move inventory in the right direction. I know several people who have traded in for a new car because their brother directed them when to trade and buy. Also if the trade in is under 80,000 miles has the most impact.

lamboguy
07-28-2012, 08:39 PM
good going gus, i am glad you hit your race this afternoon.