PDA

View Full Version : Good ObamaCare Article

Dave Schwartz
12-28-2011, 06:38 PM
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-12-27/job-creation-is-price-for-new-u-s-health-law-commentary-by-andrew-puzder.html

Job Creation Is Price for New U.S. Health Law

I am not an expert on health-care policy, but I do know something about job creation. So when a House Oversight and Government Reform subcommittee asked me to testify about the effect on employers of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, sometimes known as Obamacare, I thought I could offer some insights.

Our company, CKE Restaurants Inc., employs about 21,000 people (our franchisees employ 49,000 more) in Carl’s Jr. and Hardee’s restaurants. For months, we have been working with Mercer Health & Benefits LLC, our health-care consultant, to identify Obamacare’s potential financial impact on CKE. Mercer estimated that when the law is fully implemented our health-care costs will increase about $18 million a year. That would put our total health-care costs at $29.8 million, a 150 percent increase from the roughly $12 million we spent last year.

To reduce the financial impact of Obamacare, many businesses, including ours, will have to consider increasing the number of part-time employees (those who work less than 30 hours a week as defined under the health-care law) and reducing the number of full-time employees. So, some individuals seeking full-time work will need to find two jobs.

More at the link...

TJDave
12-28-2011, 07:08 PM
some individuals seeking full-time work will need to find two jobs.

Anyone working full time at Burger King would need a second job just to pay the rent.

The U.S. has become the minimum wage, fast-food-employing pig sty capital of the world.

bigmack
12-28-2011, 07:21 PM
The U.S. has become the minimum wage, fast-food-employing pig sty capital of the world.
If we're the capital of Pigsty what does that make MexEco?

Dave Schwartz
12-28-2011, 07:21 PM