PDA

View Full Version : My 4 months with HSH

whiptastic
10-31-2011, 01:45 PM
I wanted to take a minute to relay my experience with Horsestreet Handicapper and Dave Schwartz’s products. I’ve been working with HSH for a little over four months. When I first started looking for a DB handicapping product, I spent a couple of days reading up here on what people were using and why. I took a look the “bigs” most commonly discussed here, and settled on HSH – mostly because I liked Dave’s approach to the game.

Let me start off by saying that there is a fairly steep learning curve. I’ve been working in the software industry for many years, so I’m not unfamiliar with technology – and it still took a solid 3 weeks before I became conversant. The nature of this application is different than most in that it’s highly configurable and open ended. You can take one of many different approaches. There are so many settings and controls that it is easy to get overwhelmed. The good news is that the HSH support is really strong. As with most of the vendors that advertise here, Dave is actively involved in his product (i.e. he eats his own dog food, so to speak). There is an extensive archive of video instruction that walks the user through the program. Better still, there is an active community of users who are involved with different aspects of HSH. The groups that Dave formed are an excellent way for a beginner to flatten out the learning curve for both the application itself as well as how to use it in day-to-day operation.