PDA

View Full Version : How much can a DB calculate?

2low
10-13-2011, 03:09 PM
I've been working off and on on a "black box" of sorts, and it's showing promise. The problem is I programmed the entire thing in excel using VBA, and it is obviously starting to feel the piano on its back.

My process uses a ton of calculations using many variables (multi-layered if/than statements, etc.) None of the calculations are mathematically complex - just addition, subtraction, multiplication,division within long formulas. No square roots or anything like that.

I need to move to a proper database, and I'm thinking MySQL. As a complete novice, I'm wondering what the database would be able to do calculations wise. Would I likely have to use excel for calculations? If so, how easy is it for excel and MySQL to communicate? Is it better do do the calculations using a programming language without the need to export to excel?

Sorry - hard question to phrase correctly when I don't know what I'm talking about:lol: I have absolutely no programming background other than the VBA disaster I created, and no database experience to speak of.

sjk
10-13-2011, 03:20 PM
I use Access and it can do any calculation I need or could imagine. You can build queries and macros that do innumerable calculations. My program is black box; good luck with yours.

2low
10-13-2011, 03:28 PM
I have an old version of access too (2003 maybe?) I could also use that.

sjk
10-13-2011, 03:33 PM
I am still running Access 2000 even though I use the newer versions for work applications. There are risks in upgrading and I never saw a reason to do it.

DJofSD
10-13-2011, 03:52 PM
If the problem with the current data base is one where it is getting slower and slower as the data base grows, then I would say you probably need to redesign the data base.

2low
10-13-2011, 03:55 PM