PDA

View Full Version : Where to learn

sprintchaser
04-28-2011, 09:31 PM
I am brand new to horse racing and need a little help. Are there any helpful books or websites to help someone that is new? I currently play the tables and machines but would like to try something new. I like the idea of doing your homework to help your odds. Any and all help would be great.

thaskalos
04-28-2011, 09:38 PM
I am brand new to horse racing and need a little help. Are there any helpful books or websites to help someone that is new? I currently play the tables and machines but would like to try something new. I like the idea of doing your homework to help your odds. Any and all help would be great.
Read these 3 books in the order that they are listed:

1.) RECREATIONAL HANDICAPPING -- by James Quinn

2.) BEYER ON SPEED -- by Andrew Beyer

3.) THE WINNING HORSEPLAYER -- by Andrew Beyer

All 3 can be purchased very inexpensively at Amazon.com

JustRalph
04-28-2011, 10:32 PM
Read as much as u can in the handicapping section of this board

Post questions in those threads, and stand back and watch the answers come in. It wil be fun if nothing else

Fastracehorse
04-29-2011, 04:13 AM
is to buy the Daily Racing Form

you can handicap your track of preference and then compare your picks with the trackmans at the front page

the trackman uses common horse players vernacular so that is helpful

some trackmen are better than others - see what they write when they actually pick a winner :)

also, you can scour the past performances in the DRF to see how horses came up to a win, and what price, and how they did afterwards, it really is a gem

that way u can test your own theories as well

welcome to a fantastic game

fffastt

CincyHorseplayer
04-29-2011, 06:05 AM
Read Steve Davidowitz-Betting Thoroghbreds.I think it is the best into to handicapping and escalates as you go along.

Good luck and welcome aboard.This is a fun game!

Tom
04-29-2011, 09:06 AM