PDA

View Full Version : Class Size

Teach
03-01-2011, 07:43 PM
I just finished watching NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams.
They had a piece on education. More specifically: class size.
I heard a few politicians say that class size isn't that important.

Well, I beg to differ. As a former teacher, I witnessed, first hand,
the impact of class size on the education process. Yes, I've had classes where there were ten or fifteen students in my class.
Yet, I've also had classes where there were more than thirty kids in the class (we had to bring in extra chairs).

In my personal experience, class size is a critical factor in seeing that a child
has a conducive learning environment.

Here are my issues with larger classes: (1) More chances for disciplinary problems. (2) Less time for individual instruction. (3) Easier for students to get "lost" (slip through the cracks). (4) Less opportunity for more students to ask questions, to participate in discussions; (5) Quieter students may feel frustrated that they're going unnoticed in this larger setting.

From a educator's standpoint, a teacher's job - with larger classes - becomes that much difficult, not just from the classroom management standpoint, but from the gargantuan load of work larger classes bring with them. I'm talking about record-keeping, such as: attendance, grading homework, reports, tests, etc. Trust me: Teachers are not overpaid.

Most teacher contracts (I'm talking collective bargaining here) do attempt to set limits on classes sizes (most contracts I've seen use the words "wherever practicable and possible"). But, at least the numbers are mentioned and efforts are made to adhere to stated contractual numbers.

In summation, I'm not saying that having ten or fifteen students in classes is the answer. Yet, I'm opposed to the opposite extreme of thirty or more students (I heard the number sixty per class bandied about on the news).