PDA

View Full Version : Handicapping by the Condition Book.

turninforhome10
11-30-2010, 10:09 AM
Hello and thanks for reading this thread.
My name is K. Edwin Rollins. I have been hooked on this game since Lure won his first Breeders Cup. Hooked to the point of walking away from a career and pursuing it full time to learn the game from the groundup. I have done everything from catching pee in a test barn to breeding a stakes winner in my first year as consultant two years later. I have worked for one of the truly great Cajun horseman in Glynn (Tee Red) Bernis as he brought me up the ranks from stall mucker to racing manager for 40+ head in three years. I have been handicapping for 16 years and always reled on the traditional methods; reading the form , formulationg pace theories, clocking horses, pedigree analysis, you all have been there. While recently thinking of making a change in careers as I have moved to PA and live twenty minutes from Penn National, my thoughts were towards becomig a Jock Agent. It occured to me during this train of thought that a jock agent is truly one the only people in this business who can paid to handicap without putting out any money at all. Imagine collecting a percentage of the purse without having any money come from your pocket. Good agents make good jocks. Good jocks get better horses. Therefore good agents are finding the best horse to ride. Good agents also are very astute at the process of hustling extras. This is were it gets good. Extras for those of who are unfamilar with racetrack vernacular is a race put on a overnight that is not in the condition book. It is a race that is offered by the racing secretary to help fill his race card. For those of who are watching PARX today notice that 1,2,7,10th races are extras (file is pdf cut and paste in browser)http://www.equibase.com/premium/eqbHorsemenAreaDownloadAction.cfm?sn=ONDC-PHA-20101130D