PDA

View Full Version : Show Parlay ?

douglasw32
10-08-2010, 06:30 PM
What is the opinions out there.

Maybe a Win or Place parlay..

Partial Parlay ?

Looking for a cheap fun , weekend warrior way of playing.

woodtoo
10-08-2010, 07:20 PM
Been successful with show parlays lately,just not worth betting chalk :ThmbUp:

therussmeister
10-08-2010, 08:26 PM
I favor a partial show parlay. I look for a minimum of $3.00. I do this by using BRIS supertote, and choosing the option of displaying the wps pools as percentages and only betting if I think my horse will have no more than 15% of the show pool bet on it. 15% will almost always get you a minimum of $3.00, even with a successful bridge-jumper. Thank you net-pool pricing!

I give the profits to charity.

Rise Over Run
10-08-2010, 08:32 PM
I give the profits to charity.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

jldonah
10-08-2010, 10:15 PM
As a beginner, I think show bets in general tend to upset my wagering mindset. If I think a favorite is going to be out of the money, isn't it better to bet the big overlay, or dutch the likely two or three contenders, than to try to string one moderately big show win to other show bets?

On the other hand, I recently played a longshot across the board because his odds made me temper my estimate of his probability of winning. It turns out he did win, but I would have come out ahead (in this case) had he only shown.

I do not have the psychological wherewithal to say for one race "this bet comes out of my win bet bankroll" and two races later say "now I continue my show partial parlay from last Saturday." My goal is to achieve the consistency and discipline to do so. Till I get there I will have to play conservatively when that seems appropriate, and swing for the fences when the insight seems to be genuine.

Robert Fischer
10-08-2010, 10:34 PM