PDA

View Full Version : Tampa/Texas thread

Valuist
10-06-2010, 10:44 PM
Wonder if Tampa could get swept....over the past couple weeks, they have had no offense at all. Why would Madden start Baldelli at DH and bat him 6th? The guy had 5 HITS all season. Very, very strange.

Its now or never for Tampa's offense. CJ Wilson has had a solid season but has never thrown anywhere near this number of innings after several years operating strictly out of the bullpen. James Shields has been awful recently, with an ERA over 6 since Sept. 1. Both offenses are in a good spot, and get a considerable break not having to face starters like Lee and Price. I would have to look strongly at the over (8).

xfile
10-07-2010, 11:12 AM
Swept? No way IMO....Then again I'm not a real baseball handicapper but I studied the matchup information pretty good.....Tampa is a streaky team. They could get hot and be the sweeper...

OTM Al
10-07-2010, 01:18 PM
I think it can happen very easily. I'm not sure where Shields got his nickname because I can't recall him ever winning a big one and both he and Garza have been getting pounded the last half of the season. I'm not surprised to see Price get smoked as he's pitched well beyond the point he ever has and that wing has to be weary even if he gets another shot. This team also has a lot of swing and miss types as proven by getting no hit twice and thus the bats can go cold very quickly. Beyond that past Longoria, none of these guys have hit all that well all year.

Valuist
10-07-2010, 11:33 PM
Tampa absolutely cannot hit worth a damn. The last couple weeks of the regular season have carried right over into the playoffs. And at Arlington (the baseball park, not racetrack) you'd better be able to plate a lot of runs or you have no chance. Get the broom out.....

cj's dad
10-08-2010, 10:39 AM