PDA

View Full Version : no books at gamblers book shop

nalley0710
09-04-2010, 04:34 AM
There are almost no books on dog, harness, or thoroughbred racing at Gamblers Book Shop. That really scary. Thank god I am a good trader and sports bettor. Looks like they slimmed down all their offerings when I looked closer.

Overlay
09-04-2010, 05:33 AM
Their website inventory of thoroughbred handicapping titles appears unchanged (at least for now).

http://www.gamblersbook.com/home.php?cat=1186

(I don't know why, but their website has one category for "Horse & Dog Racing" (the "Thoroughbreds" subsection there has only eleven titles, most of them not related to handicapping), and another separate category for "Thoroughbreds", with 169 titles. The "Thoroughbreds" category is where the bulk of their handicapping books are located.)

Fingal
09-05-2010, 02:07 PM
Couldn't even get on the site Sunday. :confused:

Overlay
09-05-2010, 02:44 PM
Maybe GBS has the site down to make the same changes reflected by the in-store inventory (although I hope not).

Overlay
09-06-2010, 03:10 PM
The site is back up, with no readily discernible changes, as far as I could tell.

Turkoman
09-07-2010, 08:43 AM
There are almost no books on dog, harness, or thoroughbred racing at Gamblers Book Shop. That really scary. Thank god I am a good trader and sports bettor. Looks like they slimmed down all their offerings when I looked closer.

From 2004-2006 I visited Las Vegas 4 times, and stopped by the store each time. In fact, I purchased some books on a couple of occasions. They had tons of books at the time. That's why it feels weird to hear they have almost no books right now.

Turkoman

Tom
09-07-2010, 10:45 AM
Walking into that old back room was like waking up on Christmas morning as a kid.

Turkoman
09-07-2010, 05:26 PM
Walking into that old back room was like waking up on Christmas morning as a kid.

Oh yeah. You mean where they had all those used books?

CincyHorseplayer
09-07-2010, 07:39 PM