PDA

View Full Version : Are these statements from Andrew Beyer correct?

Crush
08-20-2010, 02:05 PM
Hi!

Well I'm reading Andrew Beyer's book Picking Winners. I have to say, if I had a dollar for every time his speed figures have let me down, I think I'd be rich.

Since I'm new to handicapping, I'd like to check with you guys for some of his statements that sound fishy. I could be very wrong that is why I'm checking with you guys.

In the book he talks about 'sucker horses'. These are horses that continue to show and never win the race. Here's the comment he makes about 'sucker horses' and 'winner horses':

"But when such horses fulfill all the important handicapping requirements, they will usually find a way to win because they posses the determination and competitive spirit that animals like 'the sucker horse' do not have.

Question: He's Implying that a horse knows he's in a race, where the finish line is, and the horse is trying to win a race through some mean of determination like he is a human. I thought the horse was an animal and does not understand he's in a race? Isn't it the jockeys job to drive the horse and whip it until the finish? Isn't s consistency of falling off late race just a sign of lack of energy reserve and part of the horses genetics? I'm just curious. Please comment.

He later talks about money management and how it's good advice to stay basically with favorites on a win bet if they meet all the requirements. He advocates betting on horses with very low odds and balks at going after the horses with the higher odds. Here's what he says:

"But a handicapper equipped with good figures and good judgment should be able to hit at least 50% of his most solid selections. If he wins half of the 7-5 shots he bets, he will make a profit of 20 percent on his investments. That is a healthy rate of return."

Can someone please clarify this for me? The below is the impression I am under:

-If you bet 10 horses at $100 each that is $1000 total investment.