PDA

View Full Version : Dumb "tourist" money?

Tape Reader
07-21-2010, 08:37 PM
Hi All,

I often hear that tracks like Saratoga and Delmar present big rewards for the discerning PP reader, as "tourist" money is dumb.

As a tote board reader, I have no knowledge of the PP's. Can "dumb" money be quantified?

Will a successful jockey, successful trainer, cause odds to be significantly below the ML? Does the track handicapper take all of this into consideration?

Thank you All in advance.

misscashalot
07-21-2010, 09:03 PM
Hi All,

I often hear that tracks like Saratoga and Delmar present big rewards for the discerning PP reader, as "tourist" money is dumb.

As a tote board reader, I have no knowledge of the PP's. Can "dumb" money be quantified?

Will a successful jockey, successful trainer, cause odds to be significantly below the ML? Does the track handicapper take all of this into consideration?

It makes no difference what causes quantification of the key factor(s) you concentrate on.
If you're a successful tote board reader you should know what the key is.

Lasix67
07-21-2010, 09:09 PM
Cramer wrote about this in his Kinky Handicapping book as he said "watch the odds move at the 7 minute mark as all the dumb money comes pouring in". His out of the box theory on tote betting is one of the most valuable lessons I learned early in my handicapping.

46zilzal
07-21-2010, 09:48 PM
Maybe not now, but it used to occur a lot at the Winter Florida meets.

thespaah
07-21-2010, 10:43 PM
Hi All,

Yes. Favorites at Saratoga tend ot get bet down more so than downstate.
Also, on some occasions the incorrect horse is the betting favorite.
I have always maintained that pencils aren't quite so sharp at Saratoga.
Tourist money. I take advanatage of it. It is what it is.

point given
07-21-2010, 10:54 PM
Yes. Favorites at Saratoga tend ot get bet down more so than downstate.
Also, on some occasions the incorrect horse is the betting favorite.