PDA

View Full Version : The $3000 Question

BELMONT 6-6-09
06-30-2010, 10:14 PM
I have a good friend that happens to be one of the best handicappers i know...he selects a consistency of winners, some at good prices. The other side of the equation is that he is a terrible money manager. This fault has kept him in the loser file for too long. We have discussed the important money management topic at length for about twenty years. No help.

I had asked my friend what would you do with a $3000 betting bank that would be used entirely for the purpose of wagering on horses.

I now ask all of the fine players on this site for any comments on how best to use this fund for the purpose of making money. Once again my buddy is a proficient handicapper. I do not know his win percentage as he does not keep records....but he can select "live" horses his problem in the betting end of the equation.

Thank you in advance for your comments as I am not an expert to give him any advice on this topic.

acorn54
07-01-2010, 12:51 AM
percentage of bankroll is the smartest move-sensible progression, you bet more when you are winning and bet less when you are losing.

jamey1977
07-01-2010, 12:57 AM
percentage of bankroll is the smartest move-sensible progression, you bet more when you are winning and bet less when you are losing. If he can pick winners. Just tell him to conserve his plays and only bet when he gets 4 to 1 and up. All of his plays should be 4 to 1 and up only. He should easily get 20 percent - Winners at a 16 dollar average. The problem with him is like I use to have, chasing losses and side bets. Just official method plays only. Discipline, without it, we will never profit one penny at this game. I don't care about winning. I know I will win. All I care about is putting down my official plays according to my official method of operations. If he could incorporate this thinking, like I do. He could succeed easily.

appistappis
07-01-2010, 01:09 AM