PDA

View Full Version : Harness Handicapping Software

wsmith8
06-21-2010, 04:44 PM
Hi,
I am not a programmer but I have been handicapping harness races for forty
years. I would like to write my own harness handicapping program using
TrackMaster Plus platinum .exe dbf files.

I need to know the best software program to use, what programming language/
language’s I need to learn where, when and how to start.

I have plenty of time because I am retired.

Thanks for your opinions. :bang:

wsmith8

headhawg
06-26-2010, 05:46 PM
Have you done any kind of programming before?

wsmith8
06-27-2010, 10:39 AM
No, I have not done any kind of programing. I am very computer oriented and
have had a programmer write a personal harness handicapping program for me over a year ago. I would like to write my own but the learning curve may be a little much.

I may have to use a programmer's services again, BUT that is very expensive.

wsmith8

headhawg
06-27-2010, 11:45 AM
It's expensive because programming takes a LOT of time. Now I'm not a gifted programmer by any stretch but I have around 130 hours of my time invested in a free program called Handifast. Handi has at least five times that amount. At only $10/hour...well...you can do the math. Good programmers will get $30 - $50 and hour so the cost can add up.

As far as doing it yourself I would suggest maybe that you try to write some formulas in Excel to see if you can get the math to work out. That way you don't need to worry about importing data and programming the user interface.

Then I would look at trial versions of programming software. Decide what your program needs to do and then try to match that with the features of the programming language. For example, if you need database capability you need to choose a language that has built-in capabilities for that. If you don't want to have too much of a hassle with the GUI then find a language with built-in GUI creation commands.