PDA

View Full Version : socal weird claim

bobbyt62
05-31-2010, 12:14 AM
in todays fifth race (sunday may 30) melody conlon won with a horse she "claimed from herself"....today she was owner/trainer. in previous race she was trainer for john "bet a million" liviakis......they claimed the gelding march 18 from mike machowsky out of a winning maiden claiming effort for $25,000, and in his next start on april 17, ran him in a $12,500 nw2l, where he ran third for liviakis/conlon. today, conlon is owner/trainer (and winner at $12) in the same condition. has anybody ever seen that type of thing before ? liviakis may be stupid, but if he allows this, it has to make him a world class idiot. claim for 25, run next for 12.5, and get claimed by YOUR trainer ! it must be legal, though you'd think the racing association would have some type of rule against it. even if there are no rules, isn't this unethical ? i've been racing for 30 years, and i used to track private sales and claims before the form used to print all the previous trainers like they do now, and i cannot recall anything like this. i HAVE seen plenty of times where a trainer bought the horse PRIVATELY (or some other way of paying) and became owner/trainer (especially common at small tracks) but i've never seen an owner's trainer claim from the owner--especially a 25k for 12.5 !

Stillriledup
05-31-2010, 12:33 AM